Explore · Sourced data
NAND Die Timeline
Real NAND dies, placed at the date of the earliest paper or announcement cited for each. Choose a measure and see how word-line layers, bit density, interface speed and cell type moved. Every point links to its sources.
Chart of dies by year
From one planar layer in 2002 to ≥400 layers in 2025
Bit density climbed from 0.0077Gb/mm2 in 2002 to 37.6Gb/mm2 in 2026
I/O speed climbed from 333MT/s in 2011 to 4800MT/s in 2025
From MLC in 2005 to PLC in 2023: more bits in every cell
Every dot in a row is the same cell type. Each maker’s dots sit a little above or below the line so dies from the same year don’t cover each other. The offset has no meaning.
- Record: the best any die had reached by then
- Samsung
- Kioxia and WD
- SK hynix
- Micron
- Intel
- Solidigm
- YMTC
- Fastest published interface standard (ONFI or JESD230)
- Fastest NAND speed a public controller brief listed
- SLC
- MLC
- TLC
- QLC
- PLC
Showing the 32 planar dies only, in the chart and the die table.
Showing the 1 stacked-planar test chip only, in the chart and the die table: whole planar arrays stacked on each other, not vertical 3D NAND.
Showing the 64 3D dies only, in the chart and the die table.
15 records, oldest first. Each die beat every earlier die on word-line layers.
11/2002
Planar
120nm 1Gb planar NAND (Lee et al., JSSC 2002)
- Maker
- Samsung
8/2013
24 layers
- Maker
- Samsung
2/2015
32 layers
2nd-gen V-NAND 128Gb TLC (32 WL)
- Maker
- Samsung
8/2015
48 layers
3rd-gen V-NAND 256Gb TLC (48 WL), mass production
- Maker
- Samsung
8/2016
64 layers
4th-gen V-NAND 512Gb TLC (64 WL)
- Maker
- Samsung
4/2017
72 layers
72-layer 256Gb TLC 3D NAND (density from a teardown, secondary source), announced
- Maker
- SK hynix
2/2018
96 layers
- Maker
- Kioxia and WD
2/2019
≥120 layers
6th-gen V-NAND 512Gb TLC (product interface speed from a review, secondary source)
- Maker
- Samsung
2/2019
128 layers
ISSCC 2019 512Gb TLC 128 WL layers, CuA, 4-plane
- Maker
- Kioxia and WD
2/2021
176 layers
7th-gen V-NAND 512Gb TLC (CoP; density note cites a teardown, secondary source)
- Maker
- Samsung
8/2022
238 layers
238-layer 512Gb TLC 4D NAND, developed
- Maker
- SK hynix
2023
≥300 layers
300+ layer 1Tb TLC (ISSCC 2023 paper 28.2)
- Maker
- SK hynix
11/2024
321 layers
321-layer 1Tb TLC (die area and density from a teardown, secondary source), mass production
- Maker
- SK hynix
2025
332 layers
BiCS10 332-layer 1Tb TLC (previewed at ISSCC 2025), sampling
- Maker
- Kioxia and WD
10/2025
≥400 layers
4XX-layer bonded 1Tb TLC with 5.6 Gb/s/pin IO (JSSC 2025, BV-NAND)
- Maker
- Samsung
33 records, oldest first. Each die beat every earlier die on bit density.
11/2002
0.0077Gb/mm2
120nm 1Gb planar NAND (Lee et al., JSSC 2002)
- Maker
- Samsung
11/2002
0.008Gb/mm2
130nm 1Gb planar NAND (JSSC 2002)
- Maker
- Kioxia and WD
11/2003
0.014Gb/mm2
90nm 2Gb planar NAND (JSSC 2003)
- Maker
- Samsung
2005
0.055Gb/mm2
70nm 8Gb MLC planar NAND (JSSC 2006)
- Maker
- Kioxia and WD
2/2006
0.079Gb/mm2
56nm 8Gb MLC planar NAND (ISSCC 2006)
- Maker
- Kioxia and WD
2/2008
0.13Gb/mm2
43nm 16Gb MLC planar NAND (ISSCC 2008)
- Maker
- Kioxia and WD
5/2008
0.19Gb/mm2
34nm 32Gb MLC (Intel and Micron), announced
- Maker
- Micron
2/2009
0.28Gb/mm2
Sub-35nm 32Gb TLC planar NAND (ISSCC 2009)
- Maker
- Kioxia and WD
2/2010
0.38Gb/mm2
25nm 64Gb MLC (Intel and Micron), announced
- Maker
- Micron
4/2011
0.54Gb/mm2
20nm 64Gb MLC (Intel and Micron), announced
- Maker
- Micron
2012
0.75Gb/mm2
19nm 128Gb TLC planar NAND (ISSCC 2012)
- Maker
- Kioxia and WD
8/2013
0.96Gb/mm2
- Maker
- Samsung
2/2015
1.86Gb/mm2
2nd-gen V-NAND 128Gb TLC (32 WL)
- Maker
- Samsung
3/2015
2.28Gb/mm2
- Maker
- Micron
8/2015
2.6Gb/mm2
3rd-gen V-NAND 256Gb TLC (48 WL), mass production
- Maker
- Samsung
2/2016
4.29Gb/mm2
768Gb 3b/cell 3D floating-gate NAND with CMOS under array (Micron and Intel, ISSCC 2016 paper 7.7)
- Maker
- Micron
2/2018
5.63Gb/mm2
64-stacked-WL 1Tb QLC (ISSCC 2018)
- Maker
- Samsung
2/2018
5.95Gb/mm2
- Maker
- Kioxia and WD
11/2018
6.3Gb/mm2
96-layer 512Gb TLC 4D NAND (CTF and PUC) (density from a teardown, secondary source), launched
- Maker
- SK hynix
2/2019
7.8Gb/mm2
ISSCC 2019 512Gb TLC 128 WL layers, CuA, 4-plane
- Maker
- Kioxia and WD
1/2020
8.5Gb/mm2
BiCS4 1.33Tb QLC (96 WL layers)
- Maker
- Kioxia and WD
5/2020
8.9Gb/mm2
96L FG 1Tb QLC (CuA; product interface speed from a review, secondary source)
- Maker
- Intel
11/2020
10.27Gb/mm2
176-layer TLC (capacity, die area and density from a teardown, secondary source), shipping
- Maker
- Micron
2/2021
10.4Gb/mm2
ISSCC 2021 1Tb TLC 170+ WL layers, CuA, 4-plane
- Maker
- Kioxia and WD
2/2021
10.8Gb/mm2
176L TLC 512Gb (4D PUC; die area from a teardown, secondary source)
- Maker
- SK hynix
2/2021
13.8Gb/mm2
144L FG 1Tb QLC (product interface speed from a review, secondary source)
- Maker
- Intel
2/2022
15Gb/mm2
BiCS6 1Tb QLC (162 WL layers, WD/Kioxia)
- Maker
- Kioxia and WD
2022
15.03Gb/mm2
X3-9070 1Tb TLC (Xtacking 3.0; layer count, die area and density from a teardown, secondary source)
- Maker
- YMTC
2/2023
23.3Gb/mm2
- Maker
- Intel
2/2024
28.5Gb/mm2
280-layer 1Tb QLC (ISSCC 2024 paper 13.3)
- Maker
- Samsung
2/2025
28.8Gb/mm2
321-layer 2Tb 4b/cell (ISSCC 2025 paper)
- Maker
- SK hynix
2025
≥29Gb/mm2
BiCS10 332-layer 1Tb TLC (previewed at ISSCC 2025), sampling
- Maker
- Kioxia and WD
2026
37.6Gb/mm2
BiCS10 332-layer 2Tb QLC 6-plane (ISSCC 2026 paper 15.1, with Sandisk)
- Maker
- Kioxia and WD
9 records, oldest first. Each die beat every earlier die on I/O speed.
12/2011
333MT/s
20nm 128Gb MLC (Intel and Micron), announced
- Maker
- Micron
8/2013
533MT/s
- Maker
- Samsung
3/2015
667MT/s
32-layer 256Gb MLC (Micron and Intel) (die area from a teardown, secondary source), announced
- Maker
- Micron
8/2016
800MT/s
4th-gen V-NAND 512Gb TLC (64 WL)
- Maker
- Samsung
7/2018
1400MT/s
5th-gen V-NAND 256Gb TLC (Toggle DDR 4.0), mass production
- Maker
- Samsung
2020
1600MT/s
X2-6070 128-layer QLC (Xtacking 2.0)
- Maker
- YMTC
2/2022
2400MT/s
8th-gen V-NAND 1Tb TLC (Toggle DDR 5.0)
- Maker
- Samsung
3/2024
3600MT/s
BiCS8 218-layer 1Tb TLC (Kioxia/Sandisk, VLSI 2023 and IEDM 2023)
- Maker
- Kioxia and WD
2025
4800MT/s
BiCS10 332-layer 1Tb TLC (previewed at ISSCC 2025), sampling
- Maker
- Kioxia and WD
3 records, oldest first. Each die beat every earlier die on cell type.
2005
MLC
70nm 8Gb MLC planar NAND (JSSC 2006)
- Maker
- Kioxia and WD
2007
QLC
70nm 16Gb 4b/cell planar NAND (VLSI 2007)
- Maker
- Kioxia and WD
2/2023
PLC
- Maker
- Intel
How to read it
Each point is one die that a paper or announcement describes. It sits at the date of the earliest paper or announcement cited for that die, which is not the year the die went into production, and a later paper that re-reports an old die does not move it. A point sits at its month when a source gives one, and mid-year when only the year is known. The chart shows 97 dies from 150 sources, 64 of them papers, not every die ever made, and a die without a value for the chosen measure is left off.
Interface speed is the speed the shipping part was specified at, from a datasheet, product page or a vendor statement; a die with no such source is left off. A test chip in a paper can run faster than the interface standards and controllers of its day allowed, so the I/O chart shows the speed each shipping part was specified at, with a dashed line for the fastest published ONFI or JESD230 speed and a dotted line for the fastest NAND speed any public controller brief listed. A peak a paper prints for a test chip is not shown, because it is not what a drive of that year ran.
Layers are word-line layers as the paper prints them. Vendors stack their arrays in different ways, so a layer count is not a like-for-like measure across vendors. Before 3D NAND, a die was planar: one layer of cells, made denser by shrinking the process node. On the layers chart a planar die sits on the bottom line at 1, and its name gives the node. Samsung’s 2008 double-stacked test chip, two planar layers on top of each other, sits at 2 on its own: Samsung called it 3D, but each layer is a planar floating-gate array, so it is filed as stacked planar and never sets a 3D record. The first vertical 3D record is Samsung’s 24-layer die of 2013. The Structure chips, above the chart and over the die table, show the planar, stacked-planar or 3D dies alone, on the chart and in the table.
On the cell-type chart each row is one cell type: SLC stores one bit per cell, MLC two, TLC three and QLC four. Points are colored by type and keep their vendor’s shape, so you can see when each maker moved to more bits per cell. A die whose sources do not give its cell type is left off.
Layers and density use a log scale, where each gridline step multiplies the value rather than adding to it. On a straight scale the older dies would crowd along the floor. Density and interface speed are the sources’ own figures, or a density worked out from the capacity and die size a source prints.
In the table below, Date is the month and year a press release gives for the announcement, samples or production, or the month the earliest paper or page was published. It is the year alone only when none of that year’s sources gives a month, such as an undated product page. Status says what the sources describe: a paper, a product page, or a vendor’s announcement, sampling or production news. Structure is the cell a source states: planar or 3D, and floating gate or charge trap. Where no cited source names the cell, it reads planar or 3D from the layer data and says the cell is not stated. tR is the time to read a page, tPROG the time to program one, and Program is the write throughput the source states. A dash means that value hasn’t been published for the die. Where the maker prints nothing, a die size, density, layer count or plane count can come from a TechInsights teardown, marked T, and a density worked out from a die size, the maker’s or a teardown’s, is marked D. A maker's own figure always wins over a teardown figure. Each source is a short label; hover it or open it for the full title.
Rankings
The same dies, ranked two ways: by bit density, and by the tallest stack each maker has stated. Every density is read from the die above, so a fix to a die shows here too.
Density ranking28 dies
Bit density is a die’s capacity in gigabits over its area in square millimeters (Gb/mm²). Kioxia’s BiCS10 332-layer 2Tb QLC 6-plane (ISSCC 2026 paper 15.1, with Sandisk) leads at 37.6 Gb/mm². The top spot passed through 16 dies here: 2002 (0.0077), 2006 (0.079), 2008 (0.11), 2010 (0.38), 2012 (0.75), 2013 (0.96), 2015 (2.6), 2016 (4.29), 2019 (7.8), 2020 (10.3), 2021 (13.8), 2022 (15), 2023 (23.3), 2024 (28.5), 2025 (29), 2026 (37.6) Gb/mm².
Bit density of ranked dies by year (Gb/mm²)
- planar floating gate
- 3D floating gate
- 3D charge trap
- Held the top spot
Planar floating gate, 3D floating gate and 3D charge trap are ranked together but never mixed up: each has its own color and filter. For 15 dies the class rests on a statement about the maker’s whole product family, and the table marks them “family only”. A rank is a rank among these dies, not every die ever made.
Highest density in this view: Kioxia BiCS10 332-layer 2Tb QLC 6-plane (ISSCC 2026 paper 15.1, with Sandisk), 37.6 Gb/mm².
* Computed from the capacity and die size the source gives. A die’s name links to its row in the full die list below.
Layer race31 points
How tall each maker has said its 3D NAND stack is, year by year: one line per maker, stepping up whenever it states a higher count. A point is the year of the statement, which can come before the die ships. 11 of 31 are marked shipping because the source says mass production, volume shipments or shipping; the rest are announced. The highest count so far: Samsung 400+ (announced), Micron 400+ (announced), SK hynix 375 (announced), Kioxia/Sandisk 332 (announced), YMTC 232 (shipping), Solidigm/Intel 192 (announced).
Highest layer count each maker has stated, by year
- Samsung
- SK hynix
- Kioxia/Sandisk
- Micron
- YMTC
- Solidigm/Intel
- Source says shipping
- Announced
| Maker | Layers as stated | Year | Status | Product | Source kind | Source | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Micron | 400+ | 2026 | Announced | G11 | maker webinar slides | s25.q4cdn.com | ">400 layers"; plotted at 400. Volume ramp in 2H 2027, so not shipping yet; Micron's shipping high stays 276 (G9). |
| Samsung | 400+ | 2026 | Announced | V10 BV-NAND | maker tech blog | semiconductor.samsung.com | "more than 400 word lines"; plotted at 400. Blog is about the FMS 2026 award; no shipping wording. |
| SK hynix | 375 | 2026 | Announced | 375-layer 1Tb TLC 4D NAND (shown at FMS 2026) | maker newsroom | news.skhynix.com | Shown as wafer and packages; no shipping wording. |
| Kioxia | 332 | 2026 | Announced | BiCS10 | maker release | kioxia.com | Sample shipments, not volume. |
| SK hynix | 321 | 2024 | Shipping | 321-layer 1Tb TLC 4D NAND | maker release | news.skhynix.com | |
| Samsung | 280 | 2024 | Announced | 280-layer 1Tb QLC (ISSCC 2024 paper 13.3) | ISSCC paper title (Crossref/OpenAlex) | doi.org | A conference paper, not a shipping claim. |
| Micron | 276 | 2024 | Shipping | G9 TLC (in Micron 2650) | maker release + product brief | investors.micron.com | The release gives no layer count; "276-layer" is from Micron’s 2650 product brief ("Micron 3D 276-layer TLC NAND"). |
| SK hynix | 300+ | 2023 | Announced | 1Tb TLC (ISSCC 2023 paper 28.2) | ISSCC paper title (Crossref/OpenAlex) | doi.org | "over 300"; plotted at 300. The IEEE abstract does not name the maker; SK hynix is per ComputerBase. |
| YMTC | 232 | 2023 | Shipping | 232-layer TLC (Xtacking 3.0), secondary source | TechInsights teardown blog | techinsights.com | TechInsights teardown comparison (secondary source), read in the saved page; no YMTC page opened states 232 layers. |
| Kioxia | 218 | 2023 | Announced | BiCS8 1Tb TLC | maker R&D page | kioxia.com | R&D page; figures credited ©IEEE 2023. No shipping wording on it. The page counts 218 word lines stacked. |
| Solidigm/Intel | 192 | 2023 | Announced | 192-layer FG PLC 1.67Tb (ISSCC 2023) | ISSCC paper title (Crossref/OpenAlex) | doi.org | |
| SK hynix | 238 | 2022 | Announced | 238-layer 512Gb TLC 4D NAND | maker release | news.skhynix.com | |
| Micron | 232 | 2022 | Shipping | 232-layer TLC | maker release | investors.micron.com | |
| Kioxia | 162 | 2022 | Announced | BiCS6 1Tb QLC (ISSCC 2022) | ISSCC paper title (Crossref/OpenAlex) | doi.org | Kioxia with Western Digital. The paper counts 162 WL layers (Fig 7.1.1). |
| Solidigm/Intel | 144 | 2021 | Announced | 1Tb QLC 144-tier FG (ISSCC 2021 paper 30.2) | ISSCC paper title (Crossref/OpenAlex) | doi.org | |
| Micron | 176 | 2020 | Shipping | 176-layer TLC | maker release | investors.micron.com | |
| YMTC | 128 | 2020 | Announced | X2-6070 128-layer 1.33Tb QLC | maker release | ymtc.com | |
| Kioxia | 112 | 2020 | Announced | BiCS5 512Gb TLC | maker release | kioxia.com | |
| Solidigm/Intel | 96 | 2020 | Announced | 96-layer FG QLC with CuA (IMW 2020) | IMW paper title (Crossref/OpenAlex) | doi.org | IMW, not ISSCC/IEDM. |
| SK hynix | 128 | 2019 | Shipping | 128-layer 1Tb TLC 4D NAND | maker release | news.skhynix.com | |
| YMTC | 64 | 2019 | Shipping | 64-layer 256Gb TLC (Xtacking) | maker release | ymtc.com | |
| SK hynix | 96 | 2018 | Announced | 96-layer 512Gb TLC 4D NAND | maker release | news.skhynix.com | Mass production was planned, not yet started. |
| Samsung | 90+ | 2018 | Shipping | V-NAND gen 5, 256Gb | maker release | news.samsung.com | "more than 90"; plotted at 90. |
| Micron | 64 | 2018 | Shipping | 64-layer 1Tb QLC (with Intel) | maker release (Intel) | intc.com | Joint release; drawn in both lanes. |
| SK hynix | 72 | 2017 | Announced | 72-layer 256Gb TLC | maker release | news.skhynix.com | Same release says 48-layer "is already in mass production". |
| Kioxia | 64 | 2017 | Announced | BiCS3 512Gb TLC (ISSCC 2017 paper 11.1) | ISSCC paper title (Crossref/OpenAlex) | doi.org | Toshiba with SanDisk. The paper counts 64 word-line layers. |
| Kioxia | 48 | 2015 | Announced | BiCS FLASH 256Gb (Toshiba) | maker release (Toshiba) | global.toshiba | |
| Samsung | 48 | 2015 | Shipping | V-NAND gen 3, 256Gb TLC | maker release | news.samsung.com | |
| Micron | 32 | 2015 | Announced | 32-layer 256Gb MLC / 384Gb TLC (with Intel) | maker release (Intel) | intc.com | Joint Intel-Micron release; drawn in both lanes. |
| Samsung | 32 | 2014 | Announced | V-NAND gen 2, 3-bit MLC | maker release | news.samsung.com | Stated in the 2015 release; "introduced" gives no shipping wording. |
| Samsung | 24 | 2013 | Shipping | V-NAND gen 1, 128Gb MLC | maker release | news.samsung.com |
These are stated counts, not a ranking of who is ahead: makers count layers differently, and a die with fewer layers can still win on density. A product links to the die it is about in the full list below. A row marked “secondary source” rests on a teardown or report, not the maker or its own paper.
Every die and its source
- means the maker hasn't published this figure.
- T Teardown figures are measured by TechInsights, not published by the maker.
- D Derived figures are the capacity divided by the die size in the cited source.
| Die | Vendor | Status | Date | Cell type | Structure | Layers | Capacity | Density | Die size | Planes | I/O speed | tR | tPROG | Program | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| G11 400+ layers (volume ramp 2H 2027) | Micron | Announced | 10/2026 | not published | 3D, cell not stated | ≥400 | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | Micron 2026 release |
| V10 375-layer 1Tb TLC | SK hynix | Shown at FMS | 8/2026 | TLC | 3D, cell not stated | 375 | 1Tb | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | SK hynix 2026 release |
| BiCS9 230-layer 1Tb TLC | Kioxia/WD | Sampling | 7/2026 | TLC | 3D, cell not stated | 230 | 1Tb | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | Kioxia 2026 release |
| MSA-CBA multi-wafer stacked prototype, QLC (VLSI 2026 T1.4, with Sandisk) | Kioxia/WD | Announced | 6/2026 | QLC | 3D, cell not stated | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | Kioxia 2026 release |
| BiCS10 332-layer 2Tb QLC 6-plane (ISSCC 2026 paper 15.1, with Sandisk) | Kioxia/WD | Paper | 2026 | QLC | 3D, cell not stated | 332 | 2Tb | 37.6Gb/mm2 | not published | 6 | not published | ≤65µs | not published | ≥85MB/s | ISSCC 2026 paperKioxia / Sandisk 2026 release |
| 4XX-layer bonded 1Tb TLC with 5.6 Gb/s/pin IO (JSSC 2025, BV-NAND) | Samsung | Paper | 10/2025 | TLC | 3D, cell not stated | ≥400 | 1Tb | 28Gb/mm2 | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | IEEE JSSC 2025 paperSamsung 2026 release |
| G9 2Tb QLC (Micron 2600) | Micron | Announced | 6/2025 | QLC | 3D, cell not stated | not published | 2Tb | not published | not published | 6 | 3600MT/s | not published | not published | not published | Micron 2025 releaseMicron 2025 product page |
| 321-layer 2Tb 4b/cell (ISSCC 2025 paper) | SK hynix | Paper | 2/2025 | QLC | 3D, cell not stated | 321 | 2Tb | 28.8Gb/mm2 | not published | 6 | not published | 80µs | 1300µs | 75MB/s | ISSCC 2025 paperSK hynix 2025 release |
| BiCS10 332-layer 1Tb TLC (previewed at ISSCC 2025) | Kioxia/WD | Sampling | 2025 | TLC | 3D, cell not stated | 332 | 1Tb | ≥29Gb/mm2 | not published | 4 | 4800MT/s | not published | not published | not published | Kioxia 2026 releaseIEEE JSSC 2026 paperKioxia 2025 releaseKioxia 2026 release |
| X4-6080 2Tb QLC (Xtacking 4.0) | YMTC | Product | 2025 | QLC | 3D, cell not stated | not published | 2Tb | not published | not published | 8 | 3600MT/s | not published | not published | not published | YMTC 2025 product page |
| 321-layer 1Tb TLC (die area and density from a teardown, secondary source) | SK hynix | Mass production | 11/2024 | TLC | 3D, cell not stated | 321 | 1Tb | 23.52Gb/mm2, teardown figure, measured by TechInsights | 43.54mm2, teardown figure, measured by TechInsights | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | SK hynix 2024 releaseTechInsights 2026 teardown |
| V9 1Tb QLC | Samsung | Announced | 9/2024 | QLC | 3D, cell not stated | not published | 1Tb | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | Samsung 2024 release |
| G9 276-layer TLC (Micron 2650) | Micron | Shipping | 7/2024 | TLC | 3D, cell not stated | 276 | 1Tb | not published | not published | 6 | 3600MT/s | not published | not published | not published | Micron 2024 product pageMicron 2024 release |
| V9 1Tb TLC (Toggle 5.1) | Samsung | Announced | 4/2024 | TLC | 3D, cell not stated | not published | 1Tb | not published | not published | not published | 3200MT/s | not published | not published | not published | Samsung 2024 release |
| BiCS8 218-layer 1Tb TLC (Kioxia/Sandisk, VLSI 2023 and IEDM 2023) | Kioxia/WD | Product | 3/2024 | TLC | 3D, cell not stated | 218 | 1Tb | 18.3Gb/mm2 | not published | 4 | 3600MT/s | 40µs | not published | 205MB/s | Kioxia 2024 releaseKioxia 2025 product page |
| 280-layer 1Tb QLC (ISSCC 2024 paper 13.3) | Samsung | Paper | 2/2024 | QLC | 3D, cell not stated | 280 | 1Tb | 28.5Gb/mm2 | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | ISSCC 2024 paper |
| X4-9060 512Gb TLC (Xtacking 4.0; die area and layer count from a teardown, secondary source) | YMTC | Product | 2024 | TLC | 3D, cell not stated | 160, teardown figure, measured by TechInsights | 512Gb | not published | 40.44mm2, teardown figure, measured by TechInsights | not published | 3600MT/s | not published | not published | not published | YMTC 2024 product pageTechInsights 2024 teardown |
| X4-9070 1Tb TLC (Xtacking 4.0) | YMTC | Product | 2024 | TLC | 3D, cell not stated | not published | 1Tb | not published | not published | 6 | 3600MT/s | not published | not published | not published | YMTC 2024 product page |
| 192L QLC (D5-P5336) | Solidigm | Product | 10/2023 | QLC | 3D, cell not stated | 192 | not published | 18.6Gb/mm2 | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | Solidigm 2024 product pageSolidigm 2023 release |
| 192L FG 1.67Tb 5b/cell (PLC) | Intel | Paper | 2/2023 | PLC | 3D floating gate | 192 | 1.67Tb | 23.3Gb/mm2 | 73.3mm2 | 4 | not published | 354µs | 5500µs | not published | ISSCC 2023 paper |
| 128-layer 512Gb TLC (single deck, die K9AHGD8U0B; teardown, secondary source) | Samsung | Announced | 2023 | not published | 3D, cell not stated | 128, teardown figure, measured by TechInsights | 512Gb, teardown figure, measured by TechInsights | 6.96Gb/mm2, teardown figure, measured by TechInsights | 73.6mm2, teardown figure, measured by TechInsights | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | TechInsights 2023 teardown |
| 300+ layer 1Tb TLC (ISSCC 2023 paper 28.2) | SK hynix | Paper | 2023 | TLC | 3D, cell not stated | ≥300 | 1Tb | not published | not published | not published | not published | 34µs | not published | 194MB/s | ISSCC 2023 paperComputerBase 2023 release |
| X3-6070 1Tb QLC (Xtacking 3.0) | YMTC | Product | 2023 | QLC | 3D, cell not stated | not published | 1Tb | not published | not published | not published | 2400MT/s | not published | not published | not published | YMTC 2023 product page |
| 238-layer 512Gb TLC 4D NAND | SK hynix | Developed | 8/2022 | TLC | 3D charge trap | 238 | 512Gb | not published | not published | not published | 2400MT/s | not published | not published | not published | SK hynix 2022 releaseSK hynix 2023 release |
| G8 232-layer TLC | Micron | Shipping | 7/2022 | TLC | 3D, cell not stated | 232 | 1Tb | 14.6Gb/mm2 | not published | 6 | 1600MT/s | not published | not published | not published | Micron 2022 releaseMicron 2022 product page |
| 176-stacked-WL 1Tb QLC (ISSCC 2022) | SK hynix | Paper | 2/2022 | QLC | 3D, cell not stated | 176 | 1Tb | 14.8Gb/mm2 | not published | 4 | not published | 90µs | not published | 40MB/s | ISSCC 2022 paperISSCC 2025 paper |
| 8th-gen V-NAND 1Tb TLC (Toggle DDR 5.0) | Samsung | Paper | 2/2022 | TLC | 3D, cell not stated | not published | 1Tb | not published | not published | not published | 2400MT/s | not published | not published | 164MB/s | ISSCC 2022 paperSamsung 2022 release |
| BiCS6 1Tb QLC (162 WL layers, WD/Kioxia) | Kioxia/WD | Paper | 2/2022 | QLC | 3D, cell not stated | 162 | 1Tb | 15Gb/mm2 | 68mm2 | 4 | not published | 65µs | not published | 60MB/s | ISSCC 2022 paper |
| 176-layer QLC (replacement gate) (density from a teardown, secondary source) | Micron | Shipping | 1/2022 | QLC | 3D charge trap | 176 | not published | 14.9Gb/mm2, teardown figure, measured by TechInsights | not published | not published | 1600MT/s | not published | not published | not published | Micron 2022 releaseTechInsights 2023 teardown |
| X3-9070 1Tb TLC (Xtacking 3.0; layer count, die area and density from a teardown, secondary source) | YMTC | Product | 2022 | TLC | 3D, cell not stated | 232, teardown figure, measured by TechInsights | 1Tb | 15.03Gb/mm2, teardown figure, measured by TechInsights | 68.15mm2, teardown figure, measured by TechInsights | 6 | 2400MT/s | not published | not published | not published | YMTC 2022 product pageYMTC 2022 releaseTechInsights 2023 teardown |
| 144L FG 1Tb QLC (product interface speed from a review, secondary source) | Intel | Paper | 2/2021 | QLC | 3D floating gate | 144 | 1Tb | 13.8Gb/mm2 | 74.03mm2 | 4 | 1200MT/s | 85µs | 1630µs | 40MB/s | ISSCC 2021 paperTom's Hardware 2021 review |
| 176L TLC 512Gb (4D PUC; die area from a teardown, secondary source) | SK hynix | Paper | 2/2021 | TLC | 3D, cell not stated | 176 | 512Gb | 10.8Gb/mm2 | 46.5mm2, teardown figure, measured by TechInsights | 4 | not published | 50µs | not published | 168MB/s | ISSCC 2021 paperTechInsights 2023 teardown |
| 7th-gen V-NAND 512Gb TLC (CoP; density note cites a teardown, secondary source) | Samsung | Paper | 2/2021 | TLC | 3D, cell not stated | 176 | 512Gb | 8.5Gb/mm2 | not published | 4 | not published | 40µs | not published | 184MB/s | ISSCC 2021 paperSamsung 2021 release |
| ISSCC 2021 1Tb TLC 170+ WL layers, CuA, 4-plane | Kioxia/WD | Paper | 2/2021 | TLC | 3D, cell not stated | ≥170 | 1Tb | 10.4Gb/mm2 | 98mm2 | 4 | not published | 50µs | not published | 160MB/s | ISSCC 2021 paper |
| XL-FLASH G1 128Gb SLC (96 WL layers) | Kioxia/WD | Paper | 1/2021 | SLC | 3D, cell not stated | 96 | 128Gb | not published | 96.34mm2 | 16 | not published | 4µs | 75µs | not published | IEEE JSSC 2021 paper |
| 128-layer 512Gb TLC (die B37R; teardown, secondary source) | Micron | Announced | 2021 | not published | 3D charge trap | 128, teardown figure, measured by TechInsights | 512Gb, teardown figure, measured by TechInsights | 7.76Gb/mm2, teardown figure, measured by TechInsights | 66.02mm2, teardown figure, measured by TechInsights | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | TechInsights 2021 teardown |
| 176-layer TLC (capacity, die area and density from a teardown, secondary source) | Micron | Shipping | 11/2020 | TLC | 3D charge trap | 176 | 512Gb, teardown figure, measured by TechInsights | 10.27Gb/mm2, teardown figure, measured by TechInsights | 49.84mm2, teardown figure, measured by TechInsights | not published | 1600MT/s | not published | not published | not published | Micron 2020 releaseTechInsights 2021 teardown |
| 96L FG 1Tb QLC (CuA; product interface speed from a review, secondary source) | Intel | Paper | 5/2020 | QLC | 3D floating gate | 96 | 1Tb | 8.9Gb/mm2 | 114.6mm2 | 4 | 800MT/s | 90µs | 2080µs | 30MB/s | IMW 2020 paperISSCC 2021 paperTom's Hardware 2021 review |
| 92-stacked-WL 1Tb QLC (ISSCC 2020 paper 13.1) | Samsung | Paper | 2/2020 | QLC | 3D, cell not stated | 92 | 1Tb | 7.53Gb/mm2 | 136mm2 | 2 | not published | 110µs | 2000µs | 18MB/s | ISSCC 2020 paper |
| 96L QLC 1Tb (PUC) | SK hynix | Paper | 2/2020 | QLC | 3D, cell not stated | 96 | 1Tb | 8.4Gb/mm2 | 122mm2 | 4 | not published | 170µs | 2150µs | 30MB/s | ISSCC 2020 paperISSCC 2021 paper |
| BiCS4 1.33Tb QLC (96 WL layers) | Kioxia/WD | Paper | 1/2020 | QLC | 3D, cell not stated | 96 | 1.33Tb | 8.5Gb/mm2 | 158.4mm2 | 2 | not published | 160µs | 3380µs | 9.7MB/s | IEEE JSSC 2020 paperISSCC 2021 paper |
| BiCS5 112-layer 512Gb TLC (density from a teardown, secondary source) | Kioxia/WD | Announced | 1/2020 | TLC | 3D, cell not stated | 112 | 512Gb | 7.08Gb/mm2, teardown figure, measured by TechInsights | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | Kioxia 2020 releaseTechInsights 2022 teardown |
| X2-6070 128-layer QLC (Xtacking 2.0) | YMTC | Product | 2020 | QLC | 3D charge trap | 128 | 1.33Tb | not published | not published | not published | 1600MT/s | not published | not published | not published | YMTC 2020 releaseYMTC 2020 product page |
| X2-9060 128-layer TLC (Xtacking 2.0; die area, density and planes from a teardown, secondary source) | YMTC | Product | 2020 | TLC | 3D, cell not stated | 128 | 512Gb | 8.47Gb/mm2, teardown figure, measured by TechInsights | 60.42mm2, teardown figure, measured by TechInsights | 4, teardown figure, measured by TechInsights | 1600MT/s | not published | not published | not published | YMTC 2020 releaseYMTC 2020 product pageTechInsights 2023 teardownTechInsights 2023 teardown |
| 64-layer 256Gb TLC (Xtacking) (die area, density and planes from a teardown, secondary source) | YMTC | Mass production | 9/2019 | TLC | 3D, cell not stated | 64 | 256Gb | 4.42Gb/mm2, teardown figure, measured by TechInsights | 57.96mm2, teardown figure, measured by TechInsights | 2, teardown figure, measured by TechInsights | not published | not published | not published | not published | YMTC 2019 releaseTechInsights 2023 teardown |
| 128-layer 1Tb TLC 4D NAND | SK hynix | Mass production | 6/2019 | TLC | 3D charge trap | 128 | 1Tb | not published | not published | 4 | 1400MT/s | not published | not published | not published | SK hynix 2019 release |
| 6th-gen V-NAND 512Gb TLC (product interface speed from a review, secondary source) | Samsung | Paper | 2/2019 | TLC | 3D, cell not stated | ≥120 | 512Gb | 5Gb/mm2 | 101.58mm2 | 2 | 1400MT/s | 45µs | not published | 82MB/s | ISSCC 2019 paperTom's Hardware 2021 reviewISSCC 2021 paper |
| ISSCC 2019 512Gb TLC 128 WL layers, CuA, 4-plane | Kioxia/WD | Paper | 2/2019 | TLC | 3D, cell not stated | 128 | 512Gb | 7.8Gb/mm2 | 66mm2 | 4 | not published | 56µs | not published | 132MB/s | ISSCC 2019 paper |
| 96-layer 512Gb TLC 4D NAND (CTF and PUC) (density from a teardown, secondary source) | SK hynix | Launched | 11/2018 | TLC | 3D charge trap | 96 | 512Gb | 6.3Gb/mm2, teardown figure, measured by TechInsights | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | SK hynix 2018 releaseTechInsights 2020 teardown |
| 5th-gen V-NAND 256Gb TLC (Toggle DDR 4.0) | Samsung | Mass production | 7/2018 | TLC | 3D charge trap | ≥90 | 256Gb | not published | not published | not published | 1400MT/s | 50µs | 500µs | not published | Samsung 2018 release |
| 64-layer 1Tb QLC (Micron and Intel) | Micron | Shipping | 5/2018 | QLC | 3D floating gate | 64 | 1Tb | not published | not published | 4 | not published | not published | not published | not published | Intel/Micron 2018 release |
| 64-stacked-WL 1Tb QLC (ISSCC 2018) | Samsung | Paper | 2/2018 | QLC | 3D, cell not stated | 64 | 1Tb | 5.63Gb/mm2 | 181.9mm2 | 2 | not published | 140µs | 3000µs | 12MB/s | ISSCC 2018 paperIEEE JSSC 2020 paperISSCC 2020 paper |
| BiCS4 512Gb TLC (Toshiba Memory, 96 WL layers; product interface speed from a review, secondary source) | Kioxia/WD | Paper | 2/2018 | TLC | 3D, cell not stated | 96 | 512Gb | 5.95Gb/mm2 | 86.13mm2 | 2 | 800MT/s | 58µs | not published | 57MB/s | ISSCC 2018 paperIEEE JSSC 2020 paperIEEE JSSC 2021 paperTom's Hardware 2020 review |
| BiCS 64-layer 768Gb QLC (Toshiba) | Kioxia/WD | Announced | 6/2017 | QLC | 3D, cell not stated | 64 | 768Gb | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | Toshiba 2017 release |
| 72-layer 256Gb TLC 3D NAND (density from a teardown, secondary source) | SK hynix | Announced | 4/2017 | TLC | 3D, cell not stated | 72 | 256Gb | 3.55Gb/mm2, teardown figure, measured by TechInsights | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | SK hynix 2017 releaseTechInsights 2018 teardown |
| BiCS3 512Gb TLC (Toshiba/WD, 64 WL layers) | Kioxia/WD | Paper | 2/2017 | TLC | 3D, cell not stated | 64 | 512Gb | 3.88Gb/mm2 | 132mm2 | 2 | 533MT/s | 64µs | not published | 46MB/s | ISSCC 2017 paperSean Webster 2022 measurement |
| 4th-gen V-NAND 512Gb TLC (64 WL) | Samsung | Paper | 8/2016 | TLC | 3D, cell not stated | 64 | 512Gb | 3.98Gb/mm2 | 128.5mm2 | 2 | 800MT/s | 60µs | 700µs | 51MB/s | IEEE JSSC 2018 paperSamsung 2016 releaseIEEE JSSC 2020 paper |
| 14nm 128Gb MLC planar NAND (ISSCC 2016 paper 7.5) | Samsung | Paper | 2/2016 | MLC | Planar, cell not stated | Planar | 128Gb | 0.98Gb/mm2, derived: capacity over the die size in the cited source | 130mm2 | 2 | not published | not published | 640µs | 50MB/s | ISSCC 2016 paper |
| 768Gb 3b/cell 3D floating-gate NAND with CMOS under array (Micron and Intel, ISSCC 2016 paper 7.7) | Micron | Paper | 2/2016 | TLC | 3D floating gate | not published | 768Gb | 4.29Gb/mm2 | 179.2mm2 | 4 | not published | not published | not published | 44MB/s | ISSCC 2016 paper |
| 3rd-gen V-NAND 256Gb TLC (48 WL) | Samsung | Mass production | 8/2015 | TLC | 3D charge trap | 48 | 256Gb | 2.6Gb/mm2 | 97.6mm2 | 2 | 400MT/s | 45µs | 660µs | 53.3MB/s | IEEE JSSC 2017 paperSamsung 2015 releaseComputerBase 2016 release |
| BiCS 48-layer 256Gb TLC (Toshiba) (die area and density from a teardown, secondary source) | Kioxia/WD | Announced | 8/2015 | TLC | 3D, cell not stated | 48 | 256Gb | 2.43Gb/mm2, derived: capacity over the die size in the cited source | 105.4mm2, teardown figure, measured by TechInsights | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | Toshiba 2015 releaseTechInsights 2018 teardown |
| 32-layer 256Gb MLC (Micron and Intel) (die area from a teardown, secondary source) | Micron | Announced | 3/2015 | MLC | 3D floating gate | 32 | 256Gb | not published | 168.2mm2, teardown figure, measured by TechInsights | 4 | 667MT/s | 77µs | 1300µs | not published | Intel/Micron 2015 releaseTechInsights 2016 teardownMicron 2016 product page |
| 32-layer 384Gb TLC (Micron and Intel) (die area and density from a teardown, secondary source) | Micron | Announced | 3/2015 | TLC | 3D floating gate | 32 | 384Gb | 2.28Gb/mm2, teardown figure, measured by TechInsights | 168.2mm2, teardown figure, measured by TechInsights | 4 | 667MT/s | 100µs | 1630µs | not published | Intel/Micron 2015 releaseTechInsights 2017 teardownMicron 2016 product page |
| 2nd-gen V-NAND 128Gb TLC (32 WL) | Samsung | Paper | 2/2015 | TLC | 3D, cell not stated | 32 | 128Gb | 1.86Gb/mm2 | 68.9mm2 | 1 | 400MT/s | 45µs | 700µs | 50MB/s | IEEE JSSC 2016 paperISSCC 2015 paperComputerBase 2016 releaseIEEE JSSC 2018 paperIEEE JSSC 2020 paper |
| 15nm 64Gb MLC planar NAND (ISSCC 2015) | Kioxia/WD | Paper | 2015 | MLC | Planar, cell not stated | Planar | 64Gb | not published | 75mm2 | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | ISSCC 2015 paperPC Watch 2015 release |
| 1st-gen V-NAND 128Gb MLC (24 WL) (die size and density from a Kioxia table, secondary source) | Samsung | Mass production | 8/2013 | MLC | 3D charge trap | 24 | 128Gb | 0.96Gb/mm2 | 133mm2 | 2 | 533MT/s | 49µs | 600µs | 50MB/s | Samsung 2013 releaseIEEE JSSC 2015 paperSamsung 2014 product pageIEEE JSSC 2020 paper |
| 16nm 128Gb MLC | Micron | Sampling | 7/2013 | MLC | Planar, cell not stated | Planar | 128Gb | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | Micron 2013 releaseISSCC 2014 paper |
| 16nm 64Gb MLC planar NAND (ISSCC 2014) | SK hynix | Paper | 2013 | MLC | Planar, cell not stated | Planar | 64Gb | 0.69Gb/mm2, derived: capacity over the die size in the cited source | 93.4mm2 | 2 | not published | not published | not published | not published | ISSCC 2014 paperElectronics360 / EE Times 2013 release |
| 20nm 128Gb TLC planar NAND (ISSCC 2013) (die size and density from a Toshiba table, secondary source) | Micron | Paper | 2013 | TLC | Planar floating gate | Planar | 128Gb | 0.87Gb/mm2 | 146.5mm2 | not published | not published | 90µs | 2300µs | not published | ISSCC 2013 paperISSCC 2017 paperPC Watch 2013 release |
| 19nm 128Gb TLC planar NAND (ISSCC 2012) | Kioxia/WD | Paper | 2012 | TLC | Planar, cell not stated | Planar | 128Gb | 0.75Gb/mm2 | 170.6mm2 | not published | not published | not published | not published | 18MB/s | ISSCC 2012 paperISSCC 2017 paperPC Watch 2012 release |
| 19nm 64Gb MLC planar NAND (ISSCC 2012) | Kioxia/WD | Paper | 2012 | MLC | Planar, cell not stated | Planar | 64Gb | 0.57Gb/mm2, derived: capacity over the die size in the cited source | 112.8mm2 | 1 | not published | not published | 1100µs | 15MB/s | ISSCC 2012 paperToshiba 2012 paper |
| Sub-20nm 64Gb MLC planar NAND (ISSCC 2012) | Samsung | Paper | 2012 | MLC | Planar, cell not stated | Planar | 64Gb | not published | 109.5mm2 | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | ISSCC 2012 paperPC Watch 2012 release |
| 20nm 128Gb MLC (Intel and Micron) | Micron | Announced | 12/2011 | MLC | Planar, cell not stated | Planar | 128Gb | not published | not published | not published | 333MT/s | not published | not published | not published | Intel/Micron 2011 release |
| 20nm 64Gb MLC (Intel and Micron) | Micron | Announced | 4/2011 | MLC | Planar, cell not stated | Planar | 64Gb | 0.54Gb/mm2, derived: capacity over the die size in the cited source | 118mm2 | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | Intel/Micron 2011 release |
| 20nm-class 64Gb TLC planar NAND (ISSCC 2011) | Samsung | Paper | 2/2011 | TLC | Planar, cell not stated | Planar | 64Gb | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | 7MB/s | ISSCC 2011 paper |
| 26nm 32Gb MLC planar NAND (ISSCC 2011) | SK hynix | Paper | 2/2011 | MLC | Planar, cell not stated | Planar | 32Gb | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | ISSCC 2011 paper |
| 24nm 64Gb MLC planar NAND (ISSCC 2011) | Kioxia/WD | Paper | 2011 | MLC | Planar, cell not stated | Planar | 64Gb | 0.42Gb/mm2, derived: capacity over the die size in the cited source | 151mm2 | 2 | not published | not published | not published | not published | ISSCC 2011 paperToshiba 2011 paper |
| 25nm 64Gb MLC (Intel and Micron) | Micron | Announced | 2/2010 | MLC | Planar, cell not stated | Planar | 64Gb | 0.38Gb/mm2, derived: capacity over the die size in the cited source | 167mm2 | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | Intel/Micron 2010 release |
| 32nm 32Gb MLC planar NAND (ISSCC 2010) | Samsung | Paper | 2/2010 | MLC | Planar, cell not stated | Planar | 32Gb | 0.2Gb/mm2, derived: capacity over the die size in the cited source | 159mm2 | not published | not published | not published | not published | 12MB/s | ISSCC 2010 paper |
| 32nm 32Gb MLC planar NAND (Lee et al., ISSCC 2010) | SK hynix | Paper | 2/2010 | MLC | Planar floating gate | Planar | 32Gb | 0.22Gb/mm2, derived: capacity over the die size in the cited source | 146mm2 | not published | not published | not published | not published | 13MB/s | ISSCC 2010 paper |
| 34nm 32Gb TLC planar NAND (Intel and Micron, ISSCC 2010) | Micron | Paper | 2/2010 | TLC | Planar, cell not stated | Planar | 32Gb | not published | 126mm2 | 4 | not published | 60µs | 2000µs | 6MB/s | ISSCC 2010 paper |
| Sub-35nm 32Gb TLC planar NAND (ISSCC 2009) | Kioxia/WD | Paper | 2/2009 | TLC | Planar, cell not stated | Planar | 32Gb | 0.28Gb/mm2, derived: capacity over the die size in the cited source | 112.86mm2 | 2 | not published | not published | not published | not published | ISSCC 2009 paper |
| 43nm 64Gb 4b/cell planar NAND (ISSCC 2009) | Kioxia/WD | Paper | 2009 | QLC | Planar, cell not stated | Planar | 64Gb | not published | 244.45mm2 | not published | not published | not published | not published | 5.6MB/s | ISSCC 2009 paperPC Watch 2009 releaseEE Times 2009 release |
| 48nm 32Gb TLC planar NAND (ISSCC 2009) | SK hynix | Paper | 2009 | TLC | Planar, cell not stated | Planar | 32Gb | not published | 201mm2 | 2 | not published | not published | not published | 5.5MB/s | ISSCC 2009 paperISSCC / IEEE 2009 paper |
| 34nm 32Gb MLC (Intel and Micron) | Micron | Announced | 5/2008 | MLC | Planar, cell not stated | Planar | 32Gb | 0.19Gb/mm2, derived: capacity over the die size in the cited source | 172mm2 | not published | not published | 50µs | 900µs | 9MB/s | Intel/Micron 2008 releaseISSCC 2009 paper |
| 43nm 16Gb MLC planar NAND (ISSCC 2008) | Kioxia/WD | Paper | 2/2008 | MLC | Planar, cell not stated | Planar | 16Gb | 0.13Gb/mm2, derived: capacity over the die size in the cited source | 120mm2 | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | ISSCC 2008 paper |
| 45nm 4Gb MLC double-stacked NAND, two planar layers (ISSCC 2008) | Samsung | Paper | 2008 | MLC | Stacked planar floating gate | 2 planar | 4Gb | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | ISSCC 2008 paperUniversity of Seoul research portal 2008 paper |
| 50nm 8Gb DDR-interface NAND (Intel and Micron, ISSCC 2008) | Micron | Paper | 2008 | SLC | Planar, cell not stated | Planar | 8Gb | not published | not published | 4 | not published | 30µs | not published | 100MB/s | ISSCC 2008 paperPC Watch 2008 release |
| 56nm 16Gb MLC all-bitline NAND (ISSCC 2008) | Kioxia/WD | Paper | 2008 | MLC | Planar, cell not stated | Planar | 16Gb | not published | 182mm2 | 2 | not published | not published | not published | 34MB/s | ISSCC 2008 paperSanDisk 2008 paper |
| 56nm 16Gb TLC planar NAND (Li et al., ISSCC 2008) | Kioxia/WD | Paper | 2008 | TLC | Planar, cell not stated | Planar | 16Gb | 0.11Gb/mm2 | 142.5mm2 | not published | not published | not published | not published | 8MB/s | ISSCC 2008 paperSanDisk 2008 paper |
| 70nm 16Gb 4b/cell planar NAND (VLSI 2007) | Kioxia/WD | Paper | 2007 | QLC | Planar, cell not stated | Planar | 16Gb | not published | 168mm2 | not published | not published | not published | not published | 0.62MB/s | VLSI Circuits 2007 paperSolid State Technology 2007 release |
| 50nm 4Gb (Intel and Micron) | Micron | Sampling | 7/2006 | not published | Planar, cell not stated | Planar | 4Gb | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | Intel/Micron 2006 release |
| 56nm 8Gb MLC planar NAND (ISSCC 2006) | Kioxia/WD | Paper | 2/2006 | MLC | Planar, cell not stated | Planar | 8Gb | 0.079Gb/mm2 | 98.8mm2 | 2 | not published | not published | not published | 10MB/s | ISSCC 2006 paperISSCC 2008 paperSanDisk 2008 paper |
| 70nm 8Gb MLC planar NAND (JSSC 2006) | Kioxia/WD | Paper | 2005 | MLC | Planar, cell not stated | Planar | 8Gb | 0.055Gb/mm2, derived: capacity over the die size in the cited source | 146mm2 | 2 | not published | not published | not published | 6MB/s | IEEE JSSC 2006 paperToshiba 2005 product page |
| 90nm 2Gb planar NAND (JSSC 2003) | Samsung | Paper | 11/2003 | not published | Planar, cell not stated | Planar | 2Gb | 0.014Gb/mm2, derived: capacity over the die size in the cited source | 141mm2 | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | IEEE JSSC 2003 paper |
| 120nm 1Gb planar NAND (Lee et al., JSSC 2002) | Samsung | Paper | 11/2002 | not published | Planar, cell not stated | Planar | 1Gb | 0.0077Gb/mm2, derived: capacity over the die size in the cited source | 129.6mm2 | not published | not published | not published | not published | 7MB/s | IEEE JSSC 2002 paper |
| 130nm 1Gb planar NAND (JSSC 2002) | Kioxia/WD | Paper | 11/2002 | not published | Planar, cell not stated | Planar | 1Gb | 0.008Gb/mm2, derived: capacity over the die size in the cited source | 125mm2 | not published | not published | not published | not published | 10.6MB/s | IEEE JSSC 2002 paper |
Each value links to the paper or page it was read from. Chip-level results from a paper are one sample die, not a product.
Download the dies and their sources: CSV or JSON. Each row is one sourced value with the source it was read from, and the D and T marks as columns.
Interface standards behind the dashed line
ONFI and JESD230 rows draw the line. Toggle generations are announcements by Samsung, Toshiba, Kioxia and Sandisk, some without a date, so they are listed but not drawn. Some older rates are worked out from the standard’s timing tables rather than stated as MT/s; the source for each row says which.
What controllers could drive
The dotted line on the I/O chart is the fastest NAND speed a public controller brief listed by its date. The controllers behind it, the host links they ran, the drives measured on a test bench and the NAND speeds stated in reviews are on the Controller Timeline. ISSCC, IEDM and the VLSI Symposium, where circuit and device papers on these dies are published, are on the events calendar.
The guides behind this data
- Flash Foundations, Part 3: From Cell to Die
Follow cells into pages, blocks, and dies to understand how NAND is organized.
- Flash Foundations, Part 4: 3D NAND Stacking
See how stacking layers raised density and created new problems for fabs and firmware.
- Flash Foundations, Part 1: Standards & Interfaces
Trace the standards, interfaces and form factors that limit a drive before its firmware runs.
- Photolithography, Part 3: High-NA EUV and What It Means for Memory
High-NA EUV’s anamorphic optics and half field, what comes after it, nanoimprint, and why DRAM took EUV while 3D NAND scaled by stacking instead.