Our picks · Hardware facts first
Best RAM
The desktop memory kits we would buy, up to three per tier for DDR5 and DDR4, each chosen from a published review and the maker’s own page against a hardware bar we state below, with the DRAM chips inside wherever a source names them. There are no prices here: every link goes to the retailer, where the current price is shown.
Disclosure: the “Check price” buttons on this page are paid links, and Eyes on Flash earns a commission on purchases made through them. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
About the links
Eyes on Flash earns a commission on purchases made through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Each paid link is marked “Paid link” beside its button. This never changes which picks are listed or how they are ordered. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Best pick in each tier
DDR5 desktop kits · Budget

Photo: G.Skill G.Skill Ripjaws S5 32GB
DDR5-6000 CL32 on SK hynix A-die with one XMP 3.0 profile. Tom’s Hardware titled its review “Built for Intel CPUs” and found no EXPO profile on it.
Check price at Amazon Why we picked it Paid link
DDR5 desktop kits · Mainstream

Photo: G.Skill G.Skill Trident Z5 Neo RGB 32GB
EXPO and XMP 3.0 profiles at DDR5-6000 CL30 on SK hynix M-die. Tom’s Hardware reached DDR5-6200 at 1.40V.
Check price at Amazon Why we picked it Paid link
DDR5 desktop kits · High end

Photo: G.Skill G.Skill Trident Z5 NeoX RGB 32GB
A latency-tuned EXPO ULL profile for AM5 Ryzen. Tom’s Hardware measured a 3% average gain over the non-ULL Neo RGB on AMD and reached DDR5-6200 at 1.40V.
Check price at Amazon Why we picked it Paid link
DDR4 desktop kits · Budget

Photo: TEAMGROUP TeamGroup T-Force Dark Z 16GB
DDR4-3600 with loose CL18-22-22-42 timings and an XMP 2.0 profile. Tom’s Hardware reached DDR4-4266 on an AMD board.
Check price at Amazon Why we picked it Paid link
DDR4 desktop kits · Mainstream

Photo: Corsair Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro 32GB
DDR4-3200 CL16 in four single-rank 8GB modules with XMP 2.0. No source we found names the DRAM chips.
Check price at Amazon Why we picked it Paid link
DDR4 desktop kits · High end

Photo: TEAMGROUP TeamGroup T-Force Xtreem ARGB 16GB
DDR4-3600 CL14 on Samsung B-die at 1.45V. Tom’s Hardware reached DDR4-4200 with relaxed timings.
Check price at Amazon Why we picked it Paid link
Every kit at a glance
One dot per kit, colored by tier, quickest at the top. Hover or focus a dot for its numbers; click it to jump to the kit’s card.
Show the numbers
| Kit | Tier | MT/s | CL | Latency (ns) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| TeamGroup T-Force Xtreem ARGB 16GB | DDR4 high end | 3600 | 14 | 7.8 |
| G.Skill Trident Z5 RGB 96GB | DDR5 high end | 6400 | 32 | 10 |
| G.Skill Trident Z5 NeoX RGB 32GB | DDR5 high end | 6000 | 30 | 10 |
| G.Skill Trident Z5 Neo RGB 32GB | DDR5 mainstream | 6000 | 30 | 10 |
| TeamGroup T-Force Dark Z 16GB | DDR4 budget | 3600 | 18 | 10 |
| Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro 32GB | DDR4 mainstream | 3200 | 16 | 10 |
| G.Skill Ripjaws S5 32GB | DDR5 budget | 6000 | 32 | 10.7 |
The bar each tier sets
| Tier | Speed | First-word latency | DRAM chips named | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DDR5 budget | DDR5-6000 or faster | Not part of this tier’s bar | Required | Lifetime |
| DDR5 mainstream | DDR5-6000 or faster | 10 ns or less | Required | Lifetime |
| DDR5 high end | DDR5-6400, or a latency-tuned AMD EXPO ULL profile | 10 ns or less | Required | Lifetime |
| DDR4 budget | DDR4-3200 or faster | Not part of this tier’s bar | May be unnamed | Lifetime |
| DDR4 mainstream | DDR4-3200 or faster at CL16 or lower | Not part of this tier’s bar | May be unnamed | Lifetime |
| DDR4 high end | DDR4-3600 or faster | 8 ns or less | Required | Lifetime |
DDR5 desktop kits
DDR5 desktop kits · tier 1 of 3
Budget
DDR5-6000 kits with a named DRAM maker and a lifetime warranty. A kit with only an Intel profile still counts here if the card says so.
1 pick, best first
Best pick
G.Skill Ripjaws S5 32GB

Photo: G.Skill DDR5-6000 CL32 on SK hynix A-die with one XMP 3.0 profile. Tom’s Hardware titled its review “Built for Intel CPUs” and found no EXPO profile on it.
This kit carries an Intel XMP 3.0 profile only. Tom’s Hardware says AMD owners may want to choose another kit.
- Data rate
- DDR5-6000
- First-word latency
- 10.7 ns
- DRAM chips
- SK hynix A-die
What is inside
- DRAM chips
- SK hynix A-die Named review
- Ranks
- single rank Named review
- Rated speed
- DDR5-6000, CL32, 1.35V Maker sheet
How it clears the bar
G.Skill Ripjaws S5: each requirement of its tier and the kit’s own value Requirement The bar This kit Source kind Speed DDR5-6000 or faster DDR5-6000 CL32 Maker sheet DRAM chips named Required SK hynix A-die Named review Warranty Lifetime Limited lifetime Maker sheet Full specs
- Kit
- 32GB (2 x 16GB)
- Data rate
- DDR5-6000, CL32
- Timings
- 32-38-38-96
- Voltage
- 1.35V
- Profiles
- Intel XMP 3.0 (no AMD EXPO)
- Default speed
- 4800 MT/s at 1.10V
- DRAM
- Eight 2GB SK hynix H5CG48AGBDX018 (A-die) chips on each single-rank module, with a Richtek power management chip (Tom’s Hardware teardown).
- Ranks
- single rank
- Warranty
- Limited lifetime
- Part number
- F5-6000J3238F16GX2-RS5K
Check price at Amazon Paid link
DDR5 desktop kits · tier 2 of 3
Mainstream
DDR5-6000 at CL30, a first-word latency of 10 ns or less, with the DRAM named and a lifetime warranty.
1 pick, best first
Best pick
G.Skill Trident Z5 Neo RGB 32GB

Photo: G.Skill EXPO and XMP 3.0 profiles at DDR5-6000 CL30 on SK hynix M-die. Tom’s Hardware reached DDR5-6200 at 1.40V.
- Data rate
- DDR5-6000
- First-word latency
- 10.0 ns
- DRAM chips
- SK hynix M-die
What is inside
- DRAM chips
- SK hynix M-die Named review
- Ranks
- single rank Named review
- Rated speed
- DDR5-6000, CL30, 1.35V Maker sheet
How it clears the bar
G.Skill Trident Z5 Neo RGB: each requirement of its tier and the kit’s own value Requirement The bar This kit Source kind Speed DDR5-6000 or faster DDR5-6000 CL30 Maker sheet First-word latency 10 ns or less 10.0 ns Maker sheet DRAM chips named Required SK hynix M-die Named review Warranty Lifetime Limited lifetime Maker sheet Full specs
- Kit
- 32GB (2 x 16GB)
- Data rate
- DDR5-6000, CL30
- Timings
- 30-38-38-96
- Voltage
- 1.35V
- Profiles
- Intel XMP 3.0 and AMD EXPO
- Default speed
- 4800 MT/s at 1.10V
- DRAM
- SK hynix H5CG48MEBDX014 (M-die) chips on single-rank modules (Tom’s Hardware teardown).
- Ranks
- single rank
- Warranty
- Limited lifetime
- Part number
- F5-6000J3038F16GX2-TZ5NR
Check price at Amazon Paid link
DDR5 desktop kits · tier 3 of 3
High end
A first-word latency of 10 ns or less plus DDR5-6400 or a latency-tuned AMD EXPO ULL profile, with the DRAM named.
2 picks, best first
Best pick
G.Skill Trident Z5 NeoX RGB 32GB

Photo: G.Skill A latency-tuned EXPO ULL profile for AM5 Ryzen. Tom’s Hardware measured a 3% average gain over the non-ULL Neo RGB on AMD and reached DDR5-6200 at 1.40V.
- Data rate
- DDR5-6000
- First-word latency
- 10.0 ns
- DRAM chips
- SK hynix M-die
What is inside
- DRAM chips
- SK hynix M-die Named review
- Ranks
- single rank Named review
- Rated speed
- DDR5-6000, CL30, 1.35V Maker sheet
How it clears the bar
G.Skill Trident Z5 NeoX RGB: each requirement of its tier and the kit’s own value Requirement The bar This kit Source kind Speed DDR5-6400, or a latency-tuned AMD EXPO ULL profile DDR5-6000 CL30 Maker sheet First-word latency 10 ns or less 10.0 ns Maker sheet DRAM chips named Required SK hynix M-die Named review Warranty Lifetime Limited lifetime Maker sheet Full specs
- Kit
- 32GB (2 x 16GB)
- Data rate
- DDR5-6000, CL30
- Timings
- 30-38-38-32 (EXPO ULL), 30-38-38-96 (EXPO)
- Voltage
- 1.35V
- Profiles
- AMD EXPO ULL and AMD EXPO
- Default speed
- 4800 MT/s at 1.10V
- DRAM
- Eight 2GB SK hynix H5CG48MEBD-X014 (M-die) chips on one side of each single-rank module, with an ANPEC APW8502C-VBA50 power management chip (Tom’s Hardware teardown).
- Ranks
- single rank
- Warranty
- Limited lifetime
- Part number
- F5-6000A3038F16GX2-TZ5NXRK
Check price at Amazon Paid link2nd pick
G.Skill Trident Z5 RGB 96GB

Photo: G.Skill 96GB in two modules for boards with two memory slots, on SK hynix M-die. Tom’s Hardware ran it at DDR5-6800 with 1.45V.
- Data rate
- DDR5-6400
- First-word latency
- 10.0 ns
- DRAM chips
- SK hynix M-die
What is inside
- DRAM chips
- SK hynix M-die Named review
- Ranks
- dual rank Named review
- Rated speed
- DDR5-6400, CL32, 1.35V Maker sheet
How it clears the bar
G.Skill Trident Z5 RGB: each requirement of its tier and the kit’s own value Requirement The bar This kit Source kind Speed DDR5-6400, or a latency-tuned AMD EXPO ULL profile DDR5-6400 CL32 Maker sheet First-word latency 10 ns or less 10.0 ns Maker sheet DRAM chips named Required SK hynix M-die Named review Warranty Lifetime Limited lifetime Maker sheet Full specs
- Kit
- 96GB (2 x 48GB)
- Data rate
- DDR5-6400, CL32
- Timings
- 32-39-39-102
- Voltage
- 1.35V
- Profiles
- Intel XMP 3.0 (no AMD EXPO)
- Default speed
- 5600 MT/s at 1.10V
- DRAM
- Sixteen 3GB SK hynix H5CGD8MEBDX021 (M-die) chips on each dual-rank module, eight per side, with a Richtek power management chip (Tom’s Hardware teardown).
- Ranks
- dual rank
- Warranty
- Limited lifetime
- Part number
- F5-6400J3239F48GX2-TZ5RW
Check price at Amazon Paid link
DDR4 desktop kits
DDR4 desktop kits · tier 1 of 3
Budget
DDR4-3200 or faster with a lifetime warranty. The DRAM may be unnamed, and the card says so.
1 pick, best first
Best pick
TeamGroup T-Force Dark Z 16GB

Photo: TEAMGROUP DDR4-3600 with loose CL18-22-22-42 timings and an XMP 2.0 profile. Tom’s Hardware reached DDR4-4266 on an AMD board.
- Data rate
- DDR4-3600
- First-word latency
- 10.0 ns
- DRAM chips
- No source names the chips
What is inside
- DRAM chips
- Not stated Not stated
- Ranks
- Not stated Not stated
- Rated speed
- DDR4-3600, CL18, 1.35V Maker sheet
How it clears the bar
TeamGroup T-Force Dark Z: each requirement of its tier and the kit’s own value Requirement The bar This kit Source kind Speed DDR4-3200 or faster DDR4-3600 CL18 Maker sheet DRAM chips named May be unnamed Not named Not stated Warranty Lifetime Lifetime Maker sheet Full specs
- Kit
- 16GB (2 x 8GB)
- Data rate
- DDR4-3600, CL18
- Timings
- 18-22-22-42
- Voltage
- 1.35V
- Profiles
- Intel XMP 2.0
- Default speed
- 2400 MT/s
- DRAM
- Not named. TeamGroup says only “selected high-quality IC”, and Tom’s Hardware does not name the chips.
- Ranks
- Not stated by the maker or the review
- Warranty
- Lifetime
- Part number
- TDZGD416G3600HC18JDC01
Check price at Amazon Paid link
DDR4 desktop kits · tier 2 of 3
Mainstream
DDR4-3200 or faster at CL16 or lower with a lifetime warranty. The DRAM may be unnamed, and the card says so.
1 pick, best first
Best pick
Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro 32GB

Photo: Corsair DDR4-3200 CL16 in four single-rank 8GB modules with XMP 2.0. No source we found names the DRAM chips.
Corsair’s own page showed this capacity out of stock on 13 October 2026.
- Data rate
- DDR4-3200
- First-word latency
- 10.0 ns
- DRAM chips
- No source names the chips
What is inside
- DRAM chips
- Not stated Not stated
- Ranks
- single rank Named review
- Rated speed
- DDR4-3200, CL16, 1.35V Maker sheet
How it clears the bar
Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro: each requirement of its tier and the kit’s own value Requirement The bar This kit Source kind Speed DDR4-3200 or faster at CL16 or lower DDR4-3200 CL16 Maker sheet DRAM chips named May be unnamed Not named Not stated Warranty Lifetime Limited lifetime Maker sheet Full specs
- Kit
- 32GB (4 x 8GB)
- Data rate
- DDR4-3200, CL16
- Timings
- 16-18-18-36
- Voltage
- 1.35V
- Profiles
- Intel XMP 2.0
- Default speed
- 2133 MT/s at CL15 and 1.2V
- DRAM
- Not named. Tom’s Hardware lists the white version, CMW32GX4M4C3200C16W, as four single-rank 8GB modules and does not name the chips; Corsair says only “carefully screened ICs”.
- Ranks
- single rank
- Warranty
- Limited lifetime
- Part number
- CMW32GX4M4C3200C16
Check price at Amazon Paid link
DDR4 desktop kits · tier 3 of 3
High end
DDR4-3600 or faster with a first-word latency of 8 ns or less and the DRAM named.
1 pick, best first
Best pick
TeamGroup T-Force Xtreem ARGB 16GB

Photo: TEAMGROUP DDR4-3600 CL14 on Samsung B-die at 1.45V. Tom’s Hardware reached DDR4-4200 with relaxed timings.
- Data rate
- DDR4-3600
- First-word latency
- 7.8 ns
- DRAM chips
- Samsung B-die
What is inside
- DRAM chips
- Samsung B-die Named review
- Ranks
- single rank Named review
- Rated speed
- DDR4-3600, CL14, 1.45V Maker sheet
How it clears the bar
TeamGroup T-Force Xtreem ARGB: each requirement of its tier and the kit’s own value Requirement The bar This kit Source kind Speed DDR4-3600 or faster DDR4-3600 CL14 Maker sheet First-word latency 8 ns or less 7.8 ns Maker sheet DRAM chips named Required Samsung B-die Named review Warranty Lifetime Lifetime Maker sheet Full specs
- Kit
- 16GB (2 x 8GB)
- Data rate
- DDR4-3600, CL14
- Timings
- 14-15-15-35
- Voltage
- 1.45V
- Profiles
- Intel XMP 2.0
- Default speed
- 2400 MT/s at 16-16-16-39
- DRAM
- Samsung K4A8G085WB-BCPB (B-die) chips on single-rank modules with a 10-layer circuit board (Tom’s Hardware). TeamGroup’s page says only “selected high-quality IC”.
- Ranks
- single rank
- Warranty
- Lifetime
- Part number
- TF10D416G3600HC14CDC01
Check price at Amazon Paid link
All picks side by side
Every figure is the one on the kit’s card. Press a column heading to sort; press it again to reverse. A kit whose chips no review names says “Not stated”.
DDR5 desktop kits
Tap any column heading to sort the table by it. Tap it again to reverse the order.
| Tier and pick | Kit | Speed (MT/s) | CAS latency | Voltage | DRAM maker | Ranks | Profiles | Reviewed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Budget · Best pick | G.Skill Ripjaws S5 32GB (2 x 16GB) | 6,000 | CL32 | 1.35V | SK hynix | single rank | Intel XMP 3.0 (no AMD EXPO) | September 2023 |
| Mainstream · Best pick | G.Skill Trident Z5 Neo RGB 32GB (2 x 16GB) | 6,000 | CL30 | 1.35V | SK hynix | single rank | Intel XMP 3.0 and AMD EXPO | February 2023 |
| High end · Best pick | G.Skill Trident Z5 NeoX RGB 32GB (2 x 16GB) | 6,000 | CL30 | 1.35V | SK hynix | single rank | AMD EXPO ULL and AMD EXPO | August 2026 |
| High end · 2nd pick | G.Skill Trident Z5 RGB 96GB (2 x 48GB) | 6,400 | CL32 | 1.35V | SK hynix | dual rank | Intel XMP 3.0 (no AMD EXPO) | July 2024 |
DDR4 desktop kits
Tap any column heading to sort the table by it. Tap it again to reverse the order.
| Tier and pick | Kit | Speed (MT/s) | CAS latency | Voltage | DRAM maker | Ranks | Profiles | Reviewed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Budget · Best pick | TeamGroup T-Force Dark Z 16GB (2 x 8GB) | 3,600 | CL18 | 1.35V | Not stated | Not stated | Intel XMP 2.0 | November 2019 |
| Mainstream · Best pick | Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro 32GB (4 x 8GB) | 3,200 | CL16 | 1.35V | Not stated | single rank | Intel XMP 2.0 | August 2018 |
| High end · Best pick | TeamGroup T-Force Xtreem ARGB 16GB (2 x 8GB) | 3,600 | CL14 | 1.45V | Samsung | single rank | Intel XMP 2.0 | September 2020 |
How we pick
A kit becomes a pick when it clears the hardware bar for its tier, its maker’s page lists its exact part number and speed, and at least one published review that tested it is saved in our library. Among kits that clear the bar, the review’s verdict sets the order. DRAM makers change the chips inside a kit between production runs, so a pick stands for the run a review tested, and the card says which review that was.
The bar for every tier is drawn at the top of this page, in the overview.
An older kit can still win its tier; when its review is more than three years old, its card says so. Where a source does not name the DRAM chips, the card says that instead of guessing, and the budget and mainstream DDR4 tiers allow it.
Popularity plays no part: a kit is here because of its hardware and its reviews, not because it sells well. We check the picks again when new reviews come out.
Reading the cards
Every figure comes from the maker’s own page or a named review, linked under “Full specs”. Data rate is the speed in megatransfers per second. First-word latency is the time to the first piece of data, in nanoseconds: twice the CAS latency divided by the data rate. A DDR5-6000 kit at CL30 and a DDR4-3200 kit at CL16 both come to 10.0 ns, which is why a bigger data rate alone does not mean a faster kit. The data-rate bar fills against the highest rate in that section, and the latency bar against the lowest latency in it.
A kit’s profile is the overclock preset stored on the modules: Intel XMP, AMD EXPO, or AMD EXPO ULL, which tightens secondary timings for Ryzen. A kit with only an XMP profile may not reach its rated speed on an AMD board without manual tuning. Single-rank and dual-rank describe how the chips on a module are grouped; dual-rank modules carry twice the chips. The DRAM chips are the memory dies on the module, named by their maker and die code where a review opened the module or the maker says so.
This page does not show prices. A page built once cannot keep a price current, and a stale price is worse than none. To see how the chips fit into the wider market, use the DRAM die timeline. For why memory prices are rising, read The Memory Cycle. What the speed, timings and profile on a kit mean, what AM5 and Intel boards officially support, and what to do when a new build will not boot or stay stable are in DDR5 for Builders. For drives, see Best SSDs.
Not on this page yet
Laptop memory (SO-DIMM) and server or workstation memory (ECC) are missing. We found no published review of either that names the DRAM chips, and we do not recommend what we cannot check. They will be added when a review makes a pick possible.
Also considered
Products the reviews we read tested that did not make the cut, and the reason each one missed.
DDR5 desktop kits · Budget
- G.Skill Trident Z5 RGB DDR5-6000 C36. Samsung B-die at DDR5-6000 with a lifetime warranty and an XMP 3.0 profile, so it clears the Budget bar, but its 36-36-36-76 timings are looser than the CL30 kits ahead of it. Tom’s Hardware review, February 2022
- TeamGroup T-Force Vulcanα DDR5-6000 C38. SK hynix M-die at DDR5-6000 with a lifetime warranty and one AMD EXPO profile, so it clears the Budget bar. Tom’s Hardware found good AMD performance but weak Intel performance. Tom’s Hardware review, September 2023
DDR4 desktop kits · Mainstream
- G.Skill Trident Z Neo DDR4-3600 C16. Samsung B-die at DDR4-3600 with CL16 timings and a lifetime warranty. Tom’s Hardware found it beat the other kits in its gaming tests with headroom for manual tuning, but its CL16 sits behind the CL14 of the High end pick. Tom’s Hardware review, October 2020
DDR4 desktop kits · High end
- Patriot Viper Steel DDR4-4400. Samsung B-die with 19-19-19-39 timings at DDR4-4400, but Tom’s Hardware found neither top profile worked on one of its boards and says most boards cannot run DDR4-4400 stably. Tom’s Hardware review, February 2019
Questions before you buy
Do I need DDR5 or DDR4 for my board?
The memory slot decides it, because DDR5 and DDR4 modules do not fit each other’s sockets. Check your motherboard’s memory support list and buy the type it names.
Does speed or latency matter more?
Both count, and first-word latency combines them. That is why the Mainstream DDR5 tier asks for DDR5-6000 at CL30 and a latency of 10 ns or less. A faster kit with loose timings can end up no quicker than a slower kit with tight ones.
What do XMP and EXPO do?
They are profiles stored on the modules that set speed, timings and voltage in one BIOS step. XMP is Intel’s format and EXPO is AMD’s. Until you enable one, the DDR5 kits here run at their base speed of 4800 or 5600 MT/s and the DDR4 kits at 2133 or 2400 MT/s, and a kit with only an XMP profile, like the Ripjaws S5 pick, may leave AMD owners wanting a kit with EXPO.
Should I buy two sticks or four?
Two larger modules is the usual starting point, since fewer modules put less load on the memory controller. The 2 x 48GB pick shows how a two-slot board can still reach 96GB.
Does the DRAM chip maker matter?
It matters most if you plan to tune timings. Reviews report how far kits on a named chip, such as SK hynix M-die or Samsung B-die, could be tuned, which helps you pick one to push. The DDR5 tiers and the DDR4 High end tier require the maker to be named, and the cards say so where it is not. DRAM die timeline.
How much RAM do I need?
Capacity matters more than speed once a system runs out of memory and starts using storage instead. The 32GB kit in two modules is the common choice on this page, and the 96GB pick suits heavier workloads.