Explore · Sourced data
Controller Timeline
SSD controllers, placed at the date of the public brief, press release or review that describes each one. See how fast a NAND bus they listed, which host link they ran, and what tested drives actually set. Every row links to its source.
The NAND speed controllers list climbed from 166 to 4800MT/s in 15 years
42 of the 72 controllers list a fastest NAND speed, each drawn at the date of its brief, press release or review. Copper marks each new record; gray is every other controller, shaped by host bus.
- Record: the fastest speed any brief had listed by then
- SATA
- PCIe
- SAS
- USB
- NVMe-oF
11 records, oldest first. Each controller listed a faster NAND speed than any brief before it.
2011
166MT/s
SandForce (LSI) SF-2200 / SF-2100 (SF-2281 family)
- Host
- SATA 6Gb/s
- NAND interface
- Toggle and ONFI 2 (ONFi2)
3/2012
200MT/s
- Host
- SATA 6Gb/s
5/2014
400MT/s
- Host
- SATA
- NAND interface
- ONFI 3 and Toggle 2
8/2016
533MT/s
- Host
- PCIe 3.0 x2, NVMe
- NAND interface
- Toggle 2 and ONFI 3
3/2018
800MT/s
- Host
- PCIe 3.0 x4, NVMe
- NAND interface
- ONFI 2.2/2.3/3.0/4.0, JEDEC mode and Toggle 1.0/2.0
8/2019
1200MT/s
Marvell 88SS1321 / 88SS1322 / 88SS1323
- Host
- PCIe 4.0, NVMe
- NAND interface
- ONFI and Toggle
10/2020
1600MT/s
- Host
- PCIe 4.0, NVMe
- NAND interface
- ONFI 4.1/3.0 and Toggle 3.0/2.0 (NV-DDR3)
12/2021
2400MT/s
- Host
- PCIe 4.0 x4, NVMe
- NAND interface
- ONFi 5.0 / Toggle 5.0 (NV-DDR3)
2023
3600MT/s
- Host
- PCIe 4.0
- NAND interface
- Toggle 5.0 and ONFi 5.0
10/2025
4200MT/s
- Host
- PCIe 5.0 x4, NVMe
1/2026
4800MT/s
- Host
- PCIe 5.0 x4, NVMe
How to read it
Each marker is one controller with a public brief, press release or review that states the fastest NAND speed it supports, placed at the date of that document, not at the date drives with it shipped. The marker’s shape is its host bus. A controller that lists no NAND speed is in the table for its host link and design but is not drawn. The chart covers controllers with a public document, not every controller ever made.
A NAND speed is a ceiling the controller can drive. What a drive runs is set by the controller and the drive’s firmware together, which is why the same NAND shows different clocks on different drives in the table of tested drives. The same line appears dotted on the NAND Die Timeline, where it shows how far a die’s interface led or lagged what controllers could drive.
Rankings
28 PCIe 4.0 and newer controllers ranked by the sequential read speed their makers claim. The maker, model, PCIe generation and channel count are the same records the timeline names controllers by; the speed is the maker’s own figure, not a measured result.
Claimed sequential read28 controllers
Each figure is the sequential read speed a controller’s maker prints, in GB/s, from the maker’s product page, table or brief. A maker rates a controller with its best NAND, capacity and firmware, so a drive you buy with that controller is often slower. Right now FADU FC6161 (Sierra) leads at 28.5 GB/s. PCIe 5.0 controllers claim up to 14.9 GB/s here and PCIe 4.0 ones up to 7.4 GB/s.
A row is ranked only when the maker labels the figure as sequential read. 3 controllers give a sequential or bare speed without saying read or write (Phison PS5028-E28, Silicon Motion SM8366, Silicon Motion SM8388), so they stay on the board unranked, with a hollow bar. Where a maker prints two read figures for one part, the higher labelled one is used and the row note names the other.
Maker-claimed sequential read (GB/s)
- Phison
- Silicon Motion
- InnoGrit
- Marvell
- Maxio
- FADU
- Read or write not stated
Fastest claimed read in this view: FADU FC6161 (Sierra), 28.5 GB/s.
| Rank | Maker | Controller | Segment | PCIe | Seq. read (GB/s) | NAND channels (up to) | Max capacity | Maker source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | FADU | FC6161 (Sierra). Unveiled at FMS 2025 on 6 August 2025. FADU gives 28.5 GB/s for sequential read and write together, and up to 512TB capacity. | enterprise | 6.0 | 28.5* | not stated | 512 TB | maker press release |
| 2 | Phison | E37T | client | 5.0 | 14.9 | 4 | not stated | maker product page |
| 3 | InnoGrit | IG5666 | client | 5.0 | 14.7 | not stated | 8 TB | maker product table |
| 3 | InnoGrit | IG5668 | enterprise | 5.0 | 14.7 | not stated | 32 TB | maker product table |
| 5 | Silicon Motion | SM2508 | client | 5.0 | 14.5 | 8 | not stated | maker product page |
| 6 | Marvell | Bravera SC5 MV-SS1331. Marvell's brief gives one sequential read figure, 14 GB/s, for the MV-SS1331 and the MV-SS1333 together; it gives no separate figure for each part. | enterprise | 5.0 | 14* | 8 | not stated | maker product brief |
| 6 | Marvell | Bravera SC5 MV-SS1333. Marvell's brief gives one sequential read figure, 14 GB/s, for the MV-SS1331 and the MV-SS1333 together; it gives no separate figure for each part. | enterprise | 5.0 | 14* | 16 | not stated | maker product brief |
| 6 | Phison | PS5026-E26. The table gives no capacity (N/A). | client | 5.0 | 14* | 8 | not stated | maker product table |
| 6 | Silicon Motion | SM2524XT | client | 5.0 | 14 | 4 | not stated | maker product page |
| 10 | Silicon Motion | SM2504XT | client | 5.0 | 11.5 | 4 | not stated | maker product page |
| 11 | Phison | PS5031-E31T. The same page also says sequential read/write up to 10.3 GB/s; its feature list gives 10.6 GB/s, the figure Phison's controller table also lists (10,600 MB/s). | client | 5.0 | 10.6* | 4 | 8 TB | maker product page |
| 12 | InnoGrit | IG5220 | client | 4.0 | 7.4 | not stated | 4 TB | maker product table |
| 12 | InnoGrit | IG5222 | client | 4.0 | 7.4 | not stated | 8 TB | maker product table |
| 12 | InnoGrit | IG5236 | client | 4.0 | 7.4 | not stated | 8 TB | maker product table |
| 12 | InnoGrit | IG5636 | enterprise | 4.0 | 7.4 | not stated | 16 TB | maker product table |
| 12 | InnoGrit | IG5638 | enterprise | 4.0 | 7.4 | not stated | 16 TB | maker product table |
| 12 | Maxio | MAP1602 | client | 4.0 | 7.4 | 4 | 4 TB | maker product page (Chinese) |
| 12 | Phison | PS5020-X1 | enterprise | 4.0 | 7.4 | not stated | 30.72 TB | maker product table |
| 12 | Phison | PS5027-E27T | client | 4.0 | 7.4 | 4 | 8 TB | maker product table |
| 12 | Phison | PS5029-E29T | client | 4.0 | 7.4 | not stated | 8 TB | maker product table |
| 12 | Silicon Motion | SM2268XT2 | client | 4.0 | 7.4 | 4 | not stated | maker product brief |
| 22 | Phison | PS5018-E18. Phison's E18 page says the controller is capable of 7400 MB/s without saying read or write; the table's labelled 7200 MB/s is used. | client | 4.0 | 7.2* | not stated | 8000 GB | maker product table |
| 22 | Phison | PS5025-E25 | client | 4.0 | 7.2 | 4 | 4096 GB | maker product table |
| 24 | Phison | PS5021-E21T | client | 4.0 | 5 | 4 | 4 TB | maker product table |
| 25 | Phison | PS5019-E19T | client | 4.0 | 3.6 | not stated | 2 TB | maker product table |
| Unranked | Phison | PS5028-E28 | client | 5.0 | 14.9read or write not stated | 8 | not stated | maker product page |
| Unranked | Silicon Motion | SM8366 | enterprise | 5.0 | >14.2read or write not stated | 16 | 128 TB | maker product brief |
| Unranked | Silicon Motion | SM8388 | enterprise | 5.0 | >14read or write not stated | 8 | not stated | maker product page |
* The maker prints a second figure for this part; hover the speed, or see the notes below. 16 of the 28 controllers are also in the timeline’s table, and their names link to their rows there.
- FADU FC6161 (Sierra): Unveiled at FMS 2025 on 6 August 2025. FADU gives 28.5 GB/s for sequential read and write together, and up to 512TB capacity.
- Marvell Bravera SC5 MV-SS1331: Marvell's brief gives one sequential read figure, 14 GB/s, for the MV-SS1331 and the MV-SS1333 together; it gives no separate figure for each part.
- Marvell Bravera SC5 MV-SS1333: Marvell's brief gives one sequential read figure, 14 GB/s, for the MV-SS1331 and the MV-SS1333 together; it gives no separate figure for each part.
- Phison PS5026-E26: The table gives no capacity (N/A).
- Phison PS5031-E31T: The same page also says sequential read/write up to 10.3 GB/s; its feature list gives 10.6 GB/s, the figure Phison's controller table also lists (10,600 MB/s).
- Phison PS5018-E18: Phison's E18 page says the controller is capable of 7400 MB/s without saying read or write; the table's labelled 7200 MB/s is used.
A maker’s read figure is a ceiling, not a test result. It says nothing about write speed, random performance, how long a drive holds its speed once its cache fills, or heat. Two makers may also rate their parts with different NAND, so a 0.2 GB/s gap means little. The board covers the controllers on the maker pages saved for it, not every controller made. Samsung, SK hynix and Solidigm publish specs for their drives, not for the controllers inside them, so they are not here. FADU’s Sierra is the only PCIe 6.0 controller here so far, from the release that unveiled it. Every speed rests on a ledger claim backed by a saved copy of the maker’s page, each read on 2026-10-18.
The data and its sources
What controllers could drive
Each row is a controller with a public brief, press release or review, dated by that document. Host is the link to the PC: the bus, its speed, the PCIe lanes and the command protocol, where the source states them. A Note tag marks an unusual design, such as AHCI over PCIe, a drive that needs special boot support, SATA Express, a bridge or RAID card, a DRAM-less controller, or SAS. The notes are listed below the table. The host bus chips above the chart filter this table too.
Download the controllers and their sources: CSV or JSON. Each row is one sourced value with the source it was read from, and the D and T marks as columns.
Tap any column heading to sort by it. Tap it again to reverse the order.
| Controller | Host | Dated | Fastest NAND speed | NAND interface | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Silicon Motion SM2259XT2 Note 1 | SATA 6Gb/s | 12/2022 | 800MT/s | ONFI 4.0 and Toggle 2.0 | Silicon Motion 2022 product page |
| Silicon Motion SM2258 | SATA 6Gb/s | 10/2019 | not published | ONFI 3.0, Toggle 2.0 and asynchronous | Silicon Motion 2019 product page |
| Silicon Motion SM2258XT Note 2 | SATA 6Gb/s | 10/2019 | not published | ONFI 3.0 and Toggle 2.0 | Silicon Motion 2019 product page |
| Silicon Motion SM2259 / SM2259XT Note 3 | SATA 6Gb/s | 10/2019 | not published | ONFI 4.0 and Toggle 2.0 | Silicon Motion 2019 product page |
| Phison PS3112-S12 | SATA | 6/2018 | not published | not published | Phison 2018 release |
| Phison PS3111-S11 Note 4 | SATA | 8/2016 | not published | not published | PHISON Electronics Corp. 2016 product pageTweakTown 2016 review |
| SandForce (Seagate/LSI) SF2400 (Cloud Flash Controller) Note 5 | SATA 6Gb/s | 9/2014 | 166MT/s | Toggle and ONFI 2 | Seagate Technology 2014 product page |
| SandForce (Seagate/LSI) SF3700 (SF3719/29/39/59) Note 6 | PCIe 2.0 x2 or x4, AHCI or NVMe, or SATA 6Gb/s | 9/2014 | 400MT/s | ONFI 2/3 and Toggle 1/2 | Seagate Technology 2014 product page |
| Phison PS3110-S10 | SATA 6Gb/s | 8/2014 | not published | not published | PHISON Electronics Corp. 2014 release |
| JMicron JMF667H | SATA | 6/2014 | not published | not published | JMicron Technology 2014 product page |
| JMicron JMF670 / JMF670H | SATA 6Gb/s | 6/2014 | not published | not published | JMicron Technology 2014 release |
| JMicron JMF810 Note 7 | PCIe 2.0 x2 via SATA Express, or SATA 6Gb/s | 6/2014 | not published | not published | JMicron Technology 2014 release |
| Marvell 88SS1074 | SATA | 5/2014 | 400MT/s | ONFI 3 and Toggle 2 | Marvell 2014 release |
| Phison PS3105-S5 | SATA 3Gb/s | 1/2013 | not published | not published | PHISON Electronics Corp. 2013 product page |
| Phison PS3108-S8 | SATA 6Gb/s | 1/2013 | not published | not published | PHISON Electronics Corp. 2013 product page |
| Phison PS3109-S9 | SATA 6Gb/s | 1/2013 | not published | not published | PHISON Electronics Corp. 2013 product page |
| JMicron JMF661 | SATA 6Gb/s | 10/2012 | not published | not published | JMicron Technology 2012 product page |
| Marvell 88SS9187 | SATA 6Gb/s | 3/2012 | 200MT/s | not published | Marvell 2012 release |
| SandForce (LSI) SF-2200 / SF-2100 (SF-2281 family) Note 8 | SATA 6Gb/s | 2011 | 166MT/s | Toggle and ONFI 2 (ONFi2) | SandForce Inc 2011 product pageSeagate Technology 2014 product page |
| Marvell 88SS9174 Note 9 | SATA 6Gb/s | 9/2010 | not published | not published | StorageReview 2010 reviewMicron 2009 release |
| JMicron JMF612 Note 10 | SATA | 10/2009 | not published | not published | JMicron Technology 2009 product pagebit-tech 2009 review |
| SandForce SF-1000 family Note 11 | SATA 3Gb/s | 4/2009 | not published | not published | SandForce 2009 release |
| JMicron JMF602 Note 12 | SATA 3Gb/s, or USB 2.0 | 12/2008 | not published | not published | JMicron Technology 2008 product pageTom's Hardware 2009 review |
| Intel X25-M and X18-M controller | SATA | 9/2008 | not published | not published | Intel 2008 release |
| Indilinx Barefoot (IDX22) | SATA 3Gb/s | 8/2008 | not published | not published | Indilinx 2008 release |
| Marvell Bravera SC6 (MV-SF1410) | PCIe 6.0 x4, NVMe | 8/2026 | 3600MT/s | ONFI and Toggle | Marvell 2026 release |
| Silicon Motion SM2524XT Note 13 | PCIe 5.0 x4, NVMe | 7/2026 | 4800MT/s | ONFI 5.2 and Toggle 6.0 | Silicon Motion 2026 product page |
| Silicon Motion SM8008 (enterprise boot) | PCIe 5.0 x4, NVMe | 3/2026 | 3600MT/s | ONFI and Toggle DDR 5.0 | Silicon Motion 2026 release |
| Phison E37T | PCIe 5.0 x4, NVMe | 1/2026 | 4800MT/s | not published | Phison 2026 releasePhison Electronics 2026 release |
| Maxio MAP1606 | PCIe 4.0 x4, NVMe | 12/2025 | 3600MT/s | not published | Maxio 2025 releasePCI-SIG 2025 integrators list |
| Silicon Motion SM8388 | PCIe 5.0, NVMe | 11/2025 | 3200MT/s | not published | Silicon Motion 2025 release |
| Microchip (Microsemi/PMC Flashtec) Flashtec NVMe 5016 Note 14 | PCIe 5.0, NVMe | 10/2025 | 3200MT/s | Toggle and ONFI | Microchip Technology 2025 product pageMicrochip Technology 2026 release |
| Phison PS5028-E28 | PCIe 5.0 x4, NVMe | 10/2025 | 4200MT/s | not published | Phison Electronics 2025 product pagePhison Electronics 2026 release |
| Silicon Motion SM2508 | PCIe 5.0 x4, NVMe | 8/2024 | 3600MT/s | not published | Silicon Motion 2024 release |
| Silicon Motion SM8366 | PCIe 5.0 | 8/2024 | 2400MT/s | not published | Silicon Motion 2024 release |
| Phison PS5012-E12 / E12S | PCIe 3.0 | 3/2024 | 667MT/s | Toggle 4.0 and ONFi 4.0 | Phison 2024 product page |
| Silicon Motion SM2268XT Note 15 | PCIe 4.0, NVMe | 2/2023 | 3200MT/s | not published | Silicon Motion 2023 release |
| Phison PS5025-E25 | PCIe 4.0 | 2023 | 2400MT/s | Toggle 5.0 and ONFi 5.0 | Phison 2023 product pagePhison 2026 product page |
| Phison PS5027-E27T | PCIe 4.0 | 2023 | 3600MT/s | Toggle 5.0 and ONFi 5.0 | Phison 2023 product pagePhison 2026 product page |
| Phison PS5031-E31T | PCIe 5.0 x4, NVMe | 2023 | 3600MT/s | Toggle 5.0 and ONFi 5.1 | Phison Electronics 2023 product page |
| Microchip (Microsemi/PMC Flashtec) Flashtec NVMe 4016 | PCIe 5.0, NVMe | 12/2022 | 2400MT/s | Toggle and ONFI | Microchip Technology 2022 product page |
| Phison PS5026-E26 | PCIe 5.0 x4, NVMe | 12/2022 | 2400MT/s | ONFI 5.0 and Toggle 5.0 | Phison Electronics 2022 product page |
| Phison PS5015-E15T Note 16 | PCIe 3.0 x4, NVMe | 2/2022 | not published | not published | Tom's Hardware 2022 review |
| Maxio MAP1202 Note 17 | PCIe 3.0 x4, NVMe | 12/2021 | 1600MT/s | ONFi 4.2 / Toggle 4.0 (NV-DDR3) | Maxio 2021 product page |
| Maxio MAP1602 Note 18 | PCIe 4.0 x4, NVMe | 12/2021 | 2400MT/s | ONFi 5.0 / Toggle 5.0 (NV-DDR3) | Maxio 2021 releaseMaxio 2021 product page |
| Marvell Bravera SC5 MV-SS1331 | PCIe 5.0, NVMe | 5/2021 | 1600MT/s | not published | Marvell 2021 product pageMarvell 2021 release |
| Marvell Bravera SC5 MV-SS1333 | PCIe 5.0, NVMe | 5/2021 | 1600MT/s | not published | Marvell 2021 product pageMarvell 2021 release |
| Phison PS5018-E18 | PCIe 4.0 x4, NVMe | 5/2021 | 1600MT/s | not published | Phison 2021 releasePhison 2019 release |
| Phison PS5021-E21T | PCIe 4.0 | 12/2020 | 1600MT/s | Toggle 4.0 and ONFi 4.2 | Phison 2020 product pagePhison 2026 product page |
| Silicon Motion SM2264 | PCIe 4.0, NVMe | 10/2020 | 1600MT/s | ONFI 4.1/3.0 and Toggle 3.0/2.0 (NV-DDR3) | Silicon Motion 2020 release |
| Silicon Motion SM2267 / SM2267XT Note 19 | PCIe 4.0 x4, NVMe | 10/2020 | 1200MT/s | ONFI 4.0/3.0 and Toggle 3.0/2.0 (NV-DDR4) | Silicon Motion 2020 product page |
| Silicon Motion SM2262 / SM2262EN | PCIe 3.0 x4, NVMe | 10/2019 | 800MT/s | ONFI 4.0/3.0 and Toggle 3.0/2.0 (NV-DDR3) | Silicon Motion 2019 product page |
| Silicon Motion SM2263EN / SM2263XT Note 20 | PCIe 3.0 x4, NVMe | 10/2019 | 800MT/s | ONFI 4.0/3.0 and Toggle 3.0/2.0 (NV-DDR3) | Silicon Motion 2019 product page |
| Marvell 88SS1321 / 88SS1322 / 88SS1323 | PCIe 4.0, NVMe | 8/2019 | 1200MT/s | ONFI and Toggle | Marvell 2019 release |
| Phison PS5013-E13T Note 21 | PCIe 3.0 x4, NVMe | 8/2019 | not published | not published | Tom's Hardware 2019 review |
| Phison PS5019-E19T Note 22 | PCIe 4.0, NVMe | 8/2019 | 1200MT/s | not published | Tom's Hardware 2019 review |
| Phison PS5016-E16 | PCIe 4.0 x4, NVMe | 7/2019 | 800MT/s | not published | Phison 2019 product page |
| Marvell 88SS1100 / 88SS1084 | PCIe 3.0 x4, NVMe | 6/2018 | 800MT/s | ONFI 2.2/2.3/3.0/4.0, JEDEC mode and Toggle 1.0/2.0/3.0 | Marvell 2018 product page |
| Marvell 88SS1098 / 88SS1088 | PCIe 3.0 x4, NVMe | 3/2018 | 800MT/s | ONFI 2.2/2.3/3.0/4.0, JEDEC mode and Toggle 1.0/2.0 | Marvell 2018 product page |
| Marvell 88SS1092 | PCIe 3.0 x4, NVMe | 3/2017 | 533MT/s | Toggle 2 and ONFI 3 | Marvell 2017 product pageMarvell 2017 release |
| Phison PS5008-E8 / E8T Note 23 | PCIe 3.0 x2, NVMe | 1/2017 | not published | not published | PHISON Electronics Corp. 2017 releaseTom's Hardware 2017 review |
| Marvell 88NV1160 Note 24 | PCIe 3.0 x2, NVMe | 8/2016 | 533MT/s | Toggle 2 and ONFI 3 | Marvell 2016 product pageMarvell 2016 release |
| Phison PS5007-E7 | PCIe 3.0 x4, NVMe | 8/2015 | not published | not published | Phison 2015 release |
| Samsung SM951 controller Note 25 | PCIe 3.0 x4, AHCI or NVMe | 4/2015 | not published | not published | Samsung 2015 release |
| JMicron JMF811 | PCIe 2.0 x4 | 6/2014 | not published | not published | JMicron Technology 2014 release |
| Marvell 88SS1083 Note 26 | PCIe 2.0 x2 via SATA Express | 5/2014 | 400MT/s | Toggle 2 and ONFI 3 | Marvell 2014 release |
| Marvell 88SS9183 Note 27 | PCIe 2.0 x2, AHCI | 1/2014 | not published | not published | Plextor 2014 releaseTom's Hardware 2014 review |
| Samsung UAX (XP941) Note 28 | PCIe 2.0 x4 | 6/2013 | not published | not published | Samsung 2013 releaseSamsung 2014 product pageTweakTown 2014 review |
| OCZ RevoDrive card (two SandForce SF-1200) Note 29 | PCIe x4 | 2/2011 | not published | not published | OCZ Technology 2011 product pageTom's Hardware 2011 review |
| PMC PM8304 SFM-12G Note 30 | SAS 12Gb/s | 6/2012 | not published | ONFI 2 and Toggle | PMC-Sierra 2012 product page |
| Silicon Motion SM2320 Note 31 | USB 3.2 Gen 2x2 | 8/2021 | not published | not published | Silicon Motion 2021 release |
| Marvell 88SS5000 (NVMe-oF) | NVMe-oF | 8/2019 | 800MT/s | ONFI 2.2/2.3/3.0/4.0, JEDEC mode and Toggle 1.0/2.0 | Marvell 2019 product page |
Notes on unusual controllers
- Silicon Motion SM2259XT2. DRAM-less, with only two NAND channels, for low-cost SATA drives. Silicon Motion 2022 product page
- Silicon Motion SM2258XT. DRAM-less: a single-chip SATA controller with no DRAM cache, to cut cost. Silicon Motion 2019 product page
- Silicon Motion SM2259 / SM2259XT. The SM2259XT is the DRAM-less version of this SATA controller. Silicon Motion 2019 product page
- Phison PS3111-S11. A two-channel controller that usually runs without DRAM. Both engineering samples TweakTown tested were DRAM-less. TweakTown 2016 review
- SandForce (Seagate/LSI) SF2400 (Cloud Flash Controller). DRAM-less: a single chip with no external DRAM. Seagate Technology 2014 product page
- SandForce (Seagate/LSI) SF3700 (SF3719/29/39/59). One chip that can be built as either a PCIe or a SATA drive. Seagate called it the first controller to support native PCIe Gen2 and SATA 6Gb/s in a single design, and over PCIe it speaks AHCI or NVMe. Seagate Technology 2014 product page
- JMicron JMF810. JMicron described it as a PCIe Gen2 two-lane and SATA 6Gb/s combo chip, or a SATA Express port, so one design could serve SATA Express systems. JMicron Technology 2014 release
- SandForce (LSI) SF-2200 / SF-2100 (SF-2281 family). DRAM-less: SandForce built it as a single chip with no external DRAM. Seagate Technology 2014 product page
- Marvell 88SS9174. Crucial’s RealSSD C300, which runs on this controller, was announced in 12/2009 as the first SSD with native SATA 6Gb/s. Micron 2009 release
- JMicron JMF612. Takes an external DDR or DDR2 cache of up to 256MB, which bit-tech said was there to stop the stuttering of JMicron's earlier 602 controller. bit-tech 2009 review
- SandForce SF-1000 family. Speaks only SATA. SandForce said SAS drives could be built by putting a third-party SAS-to-SATA bridge chip in front of it. SandForce 2009 release
- JMicron JMF602. Tom's Hardware said it had only 16KB of onboard cache and would choke under heavy writes, holding up the PC while it caught up. That stutter is why many early drives built on it were dropped. Tom's Hardware 2009 review
- Silicon Motion SM2524XT. DRAM-less: it uses the host memory buffer (HMB) in place of its own DRAM, with four NAND channels. Silicon Motion 2026 product page
- Microchip (Microsemi/PMC Flashtec) Flashtec NVMe 5016. In October 2026 Microchip announced an enhanced 5016 that adds support for the CNSA 2.0 algorithm suite, aimed at post-quantum security requirements. Microchip Technology 2026 release
- Silicon Motion SM2268XT. DRAM-less, using the NVMe Host Memory Buffer. Silicon Motion 2023 release
- Phison PS5015-E15T. DRAM-less: it uses the NVMe Host Memory Buffer, a small slice of the PC’s own memory, in place of a DRAM chip. In my review it read as a PCIe 3.0 version of the E19T that replaced the E13T. Tom's Hardware 2022 review
- Maxio MAP1202. DRAM-less: Maxio lists it among its controllers that run with no external DRAM. Maxio 2021 product page
- Maxio MAP1602. DRAM-less: Maxio lists it among its controllers that run with no external DRAM. Maxio 2021 product page
- Silicon Motion SM2267 / SM2267XT. The SM2267XT is the DRAM-less version and uses the NVMe Host Memory Buffer instead. Silicon Motion 2020 product page
- Silicon Motion SM2263EN / SM2263XT. The SM2263XT is the DRAM-less version, built for drives that use the NVMe Host Memory Buffer. Silicon Motion 2019 product page
- Phison PS5013-E13T. DRAM-less. The BGA version runs on two PCIe 3.0 lanes instead of four. Tom's Hardware 2019 review
- Phison PS5019-E19T. DRAM-less: it uses the NVMe Host Memory Buffer, a small slice of the PC’s own memory, in place of a DRAM chip. Tom's Hardware 2019 review
- Phison PS5008-E8 / E8T. The E8T is the DRAM-less version: it keeps its address map in the PC’s memory through the NVMe Host Memory Buffer. Both use a two-lane PCIe 3.0 link, which Tom’s Hardware said only Phison was doing. Tom's Hardware 2017 review
- Marvell 88NV1160. DRAM-less, built for small BGA SSDs. It uses the NVMe Host Memory Buffer to keep working data in a little of the PC’s own memory. Marvell 2016 release
- Samsung SM951 controller. The same drive came in two versions: AHCI from 1/2015 and NVMe from 4/2015. Samsung rated the NVMe one at 300,000 random read IOPS against 130,000 for AHCI. Samsung 2015 release
- Marvell 88SS1083. Marvell called it the first controller fully compliant with SATA Express, the cabled two-lane PCIe link meant to replace SATA 6Gb/s. A SATA Express port also takes ordinary SATA drives. Marvell 2014 release
- Marvell 88SS9183. A native PCIe controller that still uses AHCI, so it needs no special driver. Most PCIe SSDs before it were SATA controllers behind a RAID or host bus chip. Tom's Hardware 2014 review
- Samsung UAX (XP941). AHCI over PCIe, not NVMe, and booting was the catch. TweakTown found it worked only as a secondary drive on most PCs, and ASRock’s Z97 Extreme6 was the one enthusiast board that could boot from it. TweakTown 2014 review
- OCZ RevoDrive card (two SandForce SF-1200). Not one controller but a stack: a Pericom bridge turns the card’s four-lane PCIe 1.1 link into PCI-X for a Silicon Image SiI3124 SATA controller, which joins two SandForce SF-1200 controllers in the equivalent of RAID 0. Tom's Hardware 2011 review
- PMC PM8304 SFM-12G. A native SAS flash controller, not a SATA controller behind a bridge. Its two 12Gb/s ports run as one wide link or as two paths for dual-port enterprise drives. PMC-Sierra 2012 product page
- Silicon Motion SM2320. Talks USB directly, so a portable SSD built on it needs no separate USB bridge chip in front of an SSD controller. Silicon Motion 2021 release
Drives I tested
I read these straight off drives on my test bench with the controller vendor’s flash-ID utility. It reports the NAND the drive carries and the clock the controller set for it. This is what the drives actually ran, not what a paper or a press page says the NAND can do.
| Drive | Controller | NAND | NAND clock |
|---|---|---|---|
| Corsair MP600 Pro LPX 2TB | PS5018-E18 | Micron 176L B47R, TLC, 512Gb dies | 1200MT/s |
| Kingston Fury Renegade 2TB | PS5018-E18 | Micron 176L B47R, TLC, 512Gb dies | 1600MT/s |
| Kingston KC3000 2TB | PS5018-E18 | Micron 176L B47R, TLC, 512Gb dies | 1600MT/s |
| Seagate FireCuda 510 1TB | PS5012-E12 | Toshiba 64L BiCS3, TLC, 256Gb dies, 2 planes | 533MT/s |
The same NAND runs at different clocks on different drives: the Micron 176-layer part is at 1200MT/s on one and 1600MT/s on two others. The controller and the drive’s firmware decide, not the die.
Figures from published reviews
Tom’s Hardware reviews of these drives often stated the speed a drive’s controller used to talk to its NAND, taken from the drive’s specifications, the vendor or flash-ID readouts. These are the figures as published, with the NAND each review identified. Where I wrote a range or “up to”, the table says so.
| Drive | NAND | Speed I stated | Review |
|---|---|---|---|
| Toshiba XG5 / previous-gen Toshiba 64L flash (as stated in XG6 review) | Toshiba 64L TLC | 400MT/s (previous-gen Toggle 2.0 flash) | 8/2018 |
| Toshiba XG6 1TB | Toshiba 96L TLC | 667 to 800MT/s (supports Toggle 3.0 speeds) | 8/2018 |
| Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1TB | Samsung TLC | 1400MT/s | 11/2019 |
| Team Group MP33 1TB | Micron 96L TLC | 667MT/s (up to) | 3/2020 |
| LaCie Rugged SSD 1TB | not published | 533MT/s | 3/2020 |
| Seagate IronWolf 110 3.84TB | Kioxia 64L TLC | 400 to 533MT/s | 3/2020 |
| Adata SE800 1TB | Intel or Micron 64L TLC | 533 to 667MT/s (up to) | 5/2020 |
| Patriot P300 1TB | Kioxia 96L TLC | 800MT/s | 5/2020 |
| Lexar NM610 1TB | Intel 64L TLC | 533 to 667MT/s (about) | 5/2020 |
| addlink X70 RGB 1TB | Kioxia TLC | 533MT/s | 6/2020 |
| Crucial P2 500GB (original release) | Micron 96L TLC | 800MT/s | 7/2020 |
| Adata Falcon 1TB | Micron 96L TLC | 533 to 667MT/s (bus speeds) | 7/2020 |
| Kingston KC2000 1TB (as stated in the KC2500 review) | Kioxia 96L TLC | 525MT/s (earlier interface speed) | 8/2020 |
| Kingston KC2500 1TB | Kioxia 96L TLC | 650MT/s (increased from 525 to 650) | 8/2020 |
| Seagate FireCuda 510 1TB | Kioxia 64L TLC | 533MT/s (per channel) | 8/2020 |
| Team Group T-Force Cardea Zero Z340 1TB | Micron 96L TLC | 666MT/s | 8/2020 |
| Samsung T7 Portable SSD 2TB | Samsung 92L TLC | 1000MT/s | 8/2020 |
| Adata Swordfish 1TB | SanDisk 96L TLC | 667 to 800MT/s (roughly) | 9/2020 |
| Team Group T-Force Cardea Ceramic C440 1TB/2TB | Kioxia 96L TLC | 800MT/s (up to) | 9/2020 |
| Samsung 870 QVO 1TB | Samsung QLC | 1400MT/s (up to) | 9/2020 |
| Crucial P5 1TB | Micron 96L TLC | 667 to 800MT/s | 9/2020 |
| SanDisk Extreme Pro v2 2TB | WD / SanDisk 96L TLC | 800MT/s (up to) | 9/2020 |
| Corsair Force MP400 1TB | Micron 96L QLC | 666MT/s (up to) | 10/2020 |
| WD Black AN1500 2TB | WD (BiCS4) 96L TLC | 800MT/s (up to) | 10/2020 |
| Adata XPG Gammix S50 Lite 2TB | Micron 96L TLC | 1200MT/s (up to) | 10/2020 |
| Adata XPG SX8200 Pro (revised unit with Samsung 64L V-NAND) | Samsung 64L TLC | 525MT/s | 10/2020 |
| WD Black P50 / SN750 1TB | WD 64L TLC | 533MT/s (up to) | 11/2020 |
| PCIe 4.0 NVMe SSD (as stated in the E18 news) | Kioxia 96L TLC | 800MT/s (up to) | 11/2020 |
| Adata XPG SX8200 Pro, Adata-direct sample (news) | Micron 96L TLC | 650MT/s | 12/2020 |
| Silicon Power US70 2TB | Kioxia 96L TLC | 800MT/s | 12/2020 |
| Seagate FireCuda 120 SATA SSD | Kioxia 96L TLC | 533MT/s | 1/2021 |
| Lexar Professional NM700 1TB | Samsung (stated as most likely) 64L TLC | 533MT/s (up to) | 1/2021 |
| Samsung 870 EVO 1TB | Samsung 128L TLC | 1400MT/s | 1/2021 |
| Samsung 980 Pro 1TB | Samsung TLC | 800 to 1400MT/s (Samsung did not state exact speed) | 2/2021 |
| Intel SSD 670p 2TB | Intel 144L QLC | 1200MT/s (up to) | 3/2021 |
| Team Group EX2 SATA SSD | SanDisk 96L TLC | 800MT/s (up to) | 3/2021 |
| Silicon Power UD70 2TB | Micron 96L QLC | 666MT/s | 3/2021 |
| Corsair MP600 Pro 2TB | Micron 96L TLC | 1200MT/s (up to) | 3/2021 |
| SanDisk Extreme v2 Portable SSD | WD / SanDisk 96L TLC | 800MT/s (up to) | 3/2021 |
| WD Black SN850 1TB | Kioxia 96L TLC | 800MT/s | 4/2021 |
| Adata XPG Gammix S70 2TB | Micron 96L TLC | 1200MT/s (up to) | 4/2021 |
| Patriot Viper VP4300 2TB | Micron (Crucial-branded) 96L TLC | 1200MT/s (up to) | 4/2021 |
| Enmotus FuzeDrive P200 2TB | Micron 96L QLC | 667MT/s (up to) | 5/2021 |
| Intel Optane Memory H20 1TB | Intel 144L QLC | 1200MT/s (up to) | 5/2021 |
| Adata SE900G 1TB/2TB | Micron 96L TLC | 650MT/s | 5/2021 |
| Inland Performance Plus 2TB | Micron 96L TLC | 1200MT/s | 6/2021 |
| Cigent K2 Secure Portable SSD | Kioxia 96L TLC | 666MT/s | 6/2021 |
| Team Group T-Create Expert 2TB | Micron (FortisMax) 64L TLC | 650MT/s | 7/2021 |
| Mushkin Gamma 2TB | Micron 96L TLC | 1200MT/s | 8/2021 |
| Gigabyte Aorus Gen4 7000s 2TB | Micron 96L TLC | 1200MT/s (up to) | 8/2021 |
| Crucial P2 500GB (after QLC swap) | Micron 96L QLC | 800MT/s (similar to the original) | 8/2021 |
| MSI Spatium M480 2TB | Micron 96L TLC | 1200MT/s | 8/2021 |
| Silicon Power XD80 2TB | Kioxia 96L TLC | 533MT/s | 9/2021 |
| Seagate FireCuda 530 2TB | Micron 176L TLC | 1200MT/s | 9/2021 |
| Corsair MP600 Pro XT 2TB | Micron 176L TLC | 1200MT/s | 9/2021 |
| SK hynix Gold P31 1TB/2TB | SK hynix 128L TLC | 1200MT/s | 9/2021 |
| Team Group T-Force Cardea A440 2TB | Micron 96L TLC | 1200MT/s | 10/2021 |
| Crucial P5 Plus 1TB | Micron 176L TLC | 1600MT/s (rated, up to) | 11/2021 |
| SanDisk Professional G-Drive 2TB | Kioxia 96L TLC | 800MT/s (likely) | 11/2021 |
| PNY LX3030 2TB | Micron 96L QLC | 666MT/s | 11/2021 |
| Team Group T-Force Cardea Z44Q 4TB | Micron 96L QLC | 800MT/s | 12/2021 |
| Kingston KC3000 2TB | Micron 176L TLC | 1600MT/s | 12/2021 |
| WD Black SN750 SE 1TB | Kioxia 96L TLC | 800MT/s (likely, up to) | 1/2022 |
| Crucial T500 2TB | Micron 232L TLC | 2400MT/s (controller bus) | 10/2023 |
| Crucial T500 4TB | Micron 232L TLC | 2400MT/s | 11/2024 |
| WD Black SN7100 2TB | SanDisk 218L TLC | 2400MT/s (controller bus, up to) | 3/2025 |
| Samsung 9100 Pro 2TB | Samsung 236L TLC | 2400MT/s | 3/2025 |
| Sandisk WD Black SN8100 2TB | Kioxia 218L TLC | 3600MT/s (up to) | 5/2025 |
| Corsair MP700 Pro XT 2TB | Kioxia 218L TLC | 3600MT/s (controller can use up to; review also says 3,200 on eight channels) | 12/2025 |
| Samsung 990 2TB | Samsung 280L QLC | 2400MT/s (controller limit, up to) | 7/2026 |
The guides behind this data
- Flash Foundations, Part 5: The Controller
Meet the processor coordinating the host, NAND, and the firmware inside an SSD.
- Flash Foundations, Part 1: Standards & Interfaces
Trace the standards, interfaces and form factors that limit a drive before its firmware runs.
- SSD Benchmarking 101, Part 1: A Repeatable Test Method
Build a repeatable SSD test method: control the host, precondition the drive, and understand cache behavior, queue depth, and workload mix.