Our picks · Reliability facts first

Best HDDs

The internal hard drives we would buy, up to three per tier, each chosen from the maker’s data sheet, a saved review and, where Backblaze runs the model, its lifetime failure rate. There are no prices here: every link goes to the retailer, where the current price is shown.

Picks checked November 4, 2026

Disclosure: the “Check price” buttons on this page are paid links, and Eyes on Flash earns a commission on purchases made through them. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Best pick in each tier

  1. Desktop and backup

    Toshiba X300 Pro, product photo from Toshiba
    Photo: Toshiba

    Toshiba X300 Pro 12TB

    Tom’s Hardware names it the best high-end desktop drive: CMR at 7200 rpm, a 512 MiB cache, 300 TB a year and a five-year warranty.

    Check price at Amazon Why we picked it Paid link

  2. NAS

    Seagate IronWolf Pro, product photo from Seagate
    Photo: Seagate

    Seagate IronWolf Pro 24TB

    Tom’s Hardware picks it as the best NAS drive; Seagate rates it 550 TB a year and includes three years of data recovery.

    Check price at Amazon Why we picked it Paid link

  3. High-capacity archive

    WD Ultrastar DC HC570, product photo from WD
    Photo: WD

    WD Ultrastar DC HC570 22TB

    Backblaze’s lifetime failure rate for this exact model is 0.58% across 26.6 million drive-days; WD rates it 550 TB a year with a five-year warranty.

    Check price at Amazon Why we picked it Paid link

Every pick at a glance

One bar per drive, colored by tier and in the order the tiers run below. Hover or focus a bar for its numbers; click it to jump to the drive’s card.

Picks run from 8 TB to 24 TBCapacity per pick: Toshiba X300 Pro, 12TB; WD_BLACK 3.5-inch, 8TB; Seagate IronWolf Pro, 24TB; WD Red Pro, 22TB; Toshiba N300 Pro, 24TB; WD Ultrastar DC HC570, 22TB; Toshiba MG10, 20TB; Toshiba MG11, 24TB.BEST HDDS / CAPACITYPicks run from 8 TB to 24 TBCapacity of the size we pick, in decimal terabytesToshiba X300 ProDesktop and backup · CMR · 7200 rpm12 TBWD_BLACK 3.5-inchDesktop and backup · CMR · 7200 rpm8 TBSeagate IronWolf ProNAS · CMR · 7200 rpm24 TBWD Red ProNAS · CMR · 7200 rpm22 TBToshiba N300 ProNAS · CMR · 7200 rpm24 TBWD Ultrastar DC HC570High-capacity archive · CMR · 7200 rpm22 TBToshiba MG10High-capacity archive · CMR · 7200 rpm20 TBToshiba MG11High-capacity archive · CMR · 7200 rpm24 TB0510152025Capacity (TB)
Most of these models come in other sizes too; the card names the one the review tested. Source: Maker data sheets linked on each card.
Lowest failure rate in Backblaze’s data: Toshiba MG11Backblaze lifetime failure rate: WD Ultrastar DC HC570, 0.58 percent over 26.6 million drive-days; Toshiba MG10, 0.79 percent over 9.3 million drive-days; Toshiba MG11, 0.50 percent over 1.7 million drive-days.BEST HDDS / FAILURE DATALowest failure rate in Backblaze’s data: ToshibaMG11Lifetime failure rate in Backblaze’s own data centers; shorter is betterWD Ultrastar DC HC57045,665 drives · 26.6 million drive-days0.58%Toshiba MG1025,270 drives · 9.3 million drive-days0.79%Toshiba MG119,620 drives · 1.7 million drive-days0.50%0.00%0.25%0.50%0.75%1.00%Lifetime failure rate (% a year)
Each rate is failures over drive-days run, from Backblaze’s lifetime table; a drive with fewer days behind it has a less settled rate. Source: Backblaze drive stats, linked on each card.
Show the numbers
DriveBackblaze modelDrivesDrive-daysFailuresRate (%)
WD Ultrastar DC HC570WUH722222ALE6L445,66526,618,3894230.58
Toshiba MG10MG10ACA20TE25,2709,324,4272020.79
Toshiba MG11MG11ACA24TE9,6201,694,377230.50

The bar each tier sets

Tier3.5-inchCMR recording7200 rpmWorkload ratingWarrantyCapacityBackblaze data
Desktop and backupRequiredRequiredRequiredNot part of this tier’s bar3 years or moreNot part of this tier’s barNot part of this tier’s bar
NASNot part of this tier’s barRequiredRequired550 TB a year or more5 yearsNot part of this tier’s barNot part of this tier’s bar
High-capacity archiveNot part of this tier’s barRequiredRequired550 TB a year5 years20 TB or moreA model in the lifetime table
A tick means the tier requires it; an empty cell means it is not part of that tier’s bar.

Internal hard drives

Internal hard drives · tier 1 of 3

Desktop and backup

3.5-inch CMR drives at 7200 rpm with a warranty of three years or more, for a PC or a backup box. Budget drives with two-year warranties are left off.

2 picks, best first

  1. Best pick

    Toshiba X300 Pro 12TB

    Launched By December 2023 (date of Tom’s Hardware’s review)

    Toshiba X300 Pro, product photo from Toshiba
    Photo: Toshiba

    Tom’s Hardware names it the best high-end desktop drive: CMR at 7200 rpm, a 512 MiB cache, 300 TB a year and a five-year warranty.

    Recording
    CMR, 7200 rpm
    Workload rating
    300 TB a year
    Warranty
    5 years
    Backblaze failure rate
    Not reported by Backblaze

    Where each fact comes from

    Recording
    CMR, 7200 rpm Maker sheet
    Workload rating
    300 TB a year Maker sheet
    Warranty
    5 years Maker sheet
    Failure rate
    Not stated Not stated
    How it clears the bar
    Toshiba X300 Pro: each requirement of its tier and the drive’s own value
    RequirementThe barThis driveSource kind
    3.5-inchRequired3.5-inchMaker sheet
    CMR recordingRequiredCMRMaker sheet
    7200 rpmRequired7200 rpmMaker sheet
    Warranty3 years or more5 yearsMaker sheet
    Full specs
    Interface
    SATA 6 Gb/s
    Recording
    CMR (conventional, not shingled), 7200 rpm
    Buffer
    512 MiB
    Sustained rate
    Not stated by Toshiba
    Case
    Helium
    Workload rating
    300 TB a year
    Reliability
    1,000,000 hours
    Warranty
    5 years
    Form factor
    3.5-inch
    Part number
    HDWR51CUZSVB
  2. 2nd pick

    WD_BLACK 3.5-inch 8TB

    Launched July 2024 (date on WD’s data sheet)

    WD_BLACK 3.5-inch, product photo from WD
    Photo: WD

    Tom’s Hardware calls it the best high-capacity desktop drive: CMR at 7200 rpm with a 256 MB cache and a five-year warranty.

    Recording
    CMR, 7200 rpm
    Workload rating
    Not stated by the maker
    Warranty
    5 years
    Backblaze failure rate
    Not reported by Backblaze

    Where each fact comes from

    Recording
    CMR, 7200 rpm Maker sheet
    Workload rating
    Not stated Not stated
    Warranty
    5 years Maker sheet
    Failure rate
    Not stated Not stated
    How it clears the bar
    WD_BLACK 3.5-inch: each requirement of its tier and the drive’s own value
    RequirementThe barThis driveSource kind
    3.5-inchRequired3.5-inchMaker sheet
    CMR recordingRequiredCMRMaker sheet
    7200 rpmRequired7200 rpmMaker sheet
    Warranty3 years or more5 yearsMaker sheet
    Full specs
    Interface
    SATA 6 Gb/s
    Recording
    CMR (conventional, not shingled), 7200 rpm
    Buffer
    256 MB
    Sustained rate
    267 MB/s at best, per the maker
    Case
    Not stated in the data sheet
    Workload rating
    Not stated by the maker
    Reliability
    No MTBF in the data sheet
    Warranty
    5 years
    Form factor
    3.5-inch
    Part number
    WD8002FZBX

Internal hard drives · tier 2 of 3

NAS

CMR drives made for 24/7 use in multi-bay boxes: a workload rating of 550 TB a year and a five-year warranty.

3 picks, best first

  1. Best pick

    Seagate IronWolf Pro 24TB

    Launched November 2023 (date on Seagate’s data sheet)Launched more than three years ago

    Seagate IronWolf Pro, product photo from Seagate
    Photo: Seagate

    Tom’s Hardware picks it as the best NAS drive; Seagate rates it 550 TB a year and includes three years of data recovery.

    Seagate also sells a 24 TB IronWolf Pro with heat-assisted recording (ST24000NT031, 240 MB/s). This card is the helium ST24000NT002 that the NASCompares review tested.

    Recording
    CMR, 7200 rpm
    Workload rating
    550 TB a year
    Warranty
    5 years
    Backblaze failure rate
    Not reported by Backblaze

    Where each fact comes from

    Recording
    CMR, 7200 rpm Maker sheet
    Workload rating
    550 TB a year Maker sheet
    Warranty
    5 years Maker sheet
    Failure rate
    Not stated Not stated
    How it clears the bar
    Seagate IronWolf Pro: each requirement of its tier and the drive’s own value
    RequirementThe barThis driveSource kind
    CMR recordingRequiredCMRMaker sheet
    7200 rpmRequired7200 rpmMaker sheet
    Workload rating550 TB a year or more550 TB a yearMaker sheet
    Warranty5 years5 yearsMaker sheet
    Full specs
    Interface
    SATA 6 Gb/s
    Recording
    CMR (conventional, not shingled), 7200 rpm
    Buffer
    512 MB
    Sustained rate
    285 MB/s at best, per the maker
    Case
    Helium
    Workload rating
    550 TB a year
    Reliability
    2,500,000 hours
    Warranty
    5 years
    Form factor
    3.5-inch
    Part number
    ST24000NT002
  2. 2nd pick

    WD Red Pro 22TB

    Launched January 2025 (date on WD’s data sheet)

    WD Red Pro, product photo from WD
    Photo: WD

    Tom’s Hardware lists it as its alternate NAS pick, with 512 MB of cache and OptiNAND flash; WD rates it 550 TB a year.

    Recording
    CMR, 7200 rpm
    Workload rating
    550 TB a year
    Warranty
    5 years
    Backblaze failure rate
    Not reported by Backblaze

    Where each fact comes from

    Recording
    CMR, 7200 rpm Maker sheet
    Workload rating
    550 TB a year Maker sheet
    Warranty
    5 years Maker sheet
    Failure rate
    Not stated Not stated
    How it clears the bar
    WD Red Pro: each requirement of its tier and the drive’s own value
    RequirementThe barThis driveSource kind
    CMR recordingRequiredCMRMaker sheet
    7200 rpmRequired7200 rpmMaker sheet
    Workload rating550 TB a year or more550 TB a yearMaker sheet
    Warranty5 years5 yearsMaker sheet
    Full specs
    Interface
    SATA 6 Gb/s
    Recording
    CMR (conventional, not shingled), 7200 rpm
    Buffer
    512 MB
    Sustained rate
    265 MB/s at best, per the maker
    Case
    Helium, with OptiNAND flash on the drive
    Workload rating
    550 TB a year
    Reliability
    2,500,000 hours (the sheet’s table for this model; some other Red Pro models list 2,000,000)
    Warranty
    5 years
    Form factor
    3.5-inch
    Part number
    WD221KFGX
  3. 3rd pick

    Toshiba N300 Pro 24TB

    Launched April 2025

    Toshiba N300 Pro, product photo from Toshiba
    Photo: Toshiba

    Toshiba rates the line for 550 TB a year with a five-year warranty, and Tom’s Hardware liked it at 12 to 18TB in its X300 Pro review; the 24 TB model has a 1 GiB buffer.

    Toshiba’s table gives bulk and regional retail part numbers rather than one number, so the link searches by name. Smaller N300 Pro sizes are rated 300 TB a year; this card is the 24 TB model.

    Recording
    CMR, 7200 rpm
    Workload rating
    550 TB a year
    Warranty
    5 years
    Backblaze failure rate
    Not reported by Backblaze

    Where each fact comes from

    Recording
    CMR, 7200 rpm Maker sheet
    Workload rating
    550 TB a year Maker sheet
    Warranty
    5 years Maker sheet
    Failure rate
    Not stated Not stated
    How it clears the bar
    Toshiba N300 Pro: each requirement of its tier and the drive’s own value
    RequirementThe barThis driveSource kind
    CMR recordingRequiredCMRMaker sheet
    7200 rpmRequired7200 rpmMaker sheet
    Workload rating550 TB a year or more550 TB a yearMaker sheet
    Warranty5 years5 yearsMaker sheet
    Full specs
    Interface
    SATA 6 Gb/s
    Recording
    CMR (conventional, not shingled), 7200 rpm
    Buffer
    1 GiB
    Sustained rate
    309 MB/s at best, per the maker
    Case
    Helium
    Workload rating
    550 TB a year
    Reliability
    2,500,000 hours
    Warranty
    5 years
    Form factor
    3.5-inch
    Part number
    No single part number published

Internal hard drives · tier 3 of 3

High-capacity archive

CMR drives of 20 TB and up with a five-year warranty and a model in Backblaze’s lifetime failure table.

3 picks, best first

  1. Best pick

    WD Ultrastar DC HC570 22TB

    Launched August 2022 (date on WD’s data sheet)Launched more than three years ago

    WD Ultrastar DC HC570, product photo from WD
    Photo: WD

    Backblaze’s lifetime failure rate for this exact model is 0.58% across 26.6 million drive-days; WD rates it 550 TB a year with a five-year warranty.

    Recording
    CMR, 7200 rpm
    Workload rating
    550 TB a year
    Warranty
    5 years
    Backblaze failure rate
    0.58% lifetime failure rate over 26.6 million drive-days

    Where each fact comes from

    Recording
    CMR, 7200 rpm Maker sheet
    Workload rating
    550 TB a year Maker sheet
    Warranty
    5 years Maker sheet
    Failure rate
    0.58% lifetime failure rate over 26.6 million drive-days Fleet failure data
    How it clears the bar
    WD Ultrastar DC HC570: each requirement of its tier and the drive’s own value
    RequirementThe barThis driveSource kind
    CMR recordingRequiredCMRMaker sheet
    7200 rpmRequired7200 rpmMaker sheet
    Workload rating550 TB a year550 TB a yearMaker sheet
    Warranty5 years5 yearsMaker sheet
    Capacity20 TB or more22TBMaker sheet
    Backblaze dataA model in the lifetime tableWUH722222ALE6L4 is in the lifetime tableFleet failure data
    Full specs
    Interface
    SATA 6 Gb/s
    Recording
    CMR (conventional, not shingled), 7200 rpm
    Buffer
    512 MB
    Sustained rate
    291 MB/s at best, per the maker
    Case
    Helium, 10 disks, with OptiNAND flash on the drive
    Workload rating
    550 TB a year
    Reliability
    2,500,000 hours (projected)
    Warranty
    5 years
    Form factor
    3.5-inch
    Part number
    WUH722222ALE6L4
    Backblaze
    WUH722222ALE6L4: 423 failures in 26,618,389 drive-days, 45,665 drives
  2. 2nd pick

    Toshiba MG10 20TB

    Launched Announced October 2022 (the product manual is dated September 2022)Launched more than three years ago

    Toshiba MG10, product photo from Toshiba
    Photo: Toshiba

    Backblaze’s lifetime failure rate for this model is 0.79% across 9.3 million drive-days; Toshiba rates it 550 TB a year with a five-year warranty.

    Recording
    CMR, 7200 rpm
    Workload rating
    550 TB a year
    Warranty
    5 years
    Backblaze failure rate
    0.79% lifetime failure rate over 9.3 million drive-days

    Where each fact comes from

    Recording
    CMR, 7200 rpm Maker sheet
    Workload rating
    550 TB a year Maker sheet
    Warranty
    5 years Maker sheet
    Failure rate
    0.79% lifetime failure rate over 9.3 million drive-days Fleet failure data
    How it clears the bar
    Toshiba MG10: each requirement of its tier and the drive’s own value
    RequirementThe barThis driveSource kind
    CMR recordingRequiredCMRMaker sheet
    7200 rpmRequired7200 rpmMaker sheet
    Workload rating550 TB a year550 TB a yearMaker sheet
    Warranty5 years5 yearsMaker sheet
    Capacity20 TB or more20TBMaker sheet
    Backblaze dataA model in the lifetime tableMG10ACA20TE is in the lifetime tableFleet failure data
    Full specs
    Interface
    SATA 6 Gb/s
    Recording
    CMR (conventional, not shingled), 7200 rpm
    Buffer
    512 MiB
    Sustained rate
    268 MiB/s at best, per the maker
    Case
    Helium, 10 disks
    Workload rating
    550 TB a year
    Reliability
    2,500,000 hours
    Warranty
    5 years
    Form factor
    3.5-inch
    Part number
    MG10ACA20TE
    Backblaze
    MG10ACA20TE: 202 failures in 9,324,427 drive-days, 25,270 drives
  3. 3rd pick

    Toshiba MG11 24TB

    Launched September 2024

    Toshiba MG11, product photo from Toshiba
    Photo: Toshiba

    Backblaze’s lifetime rate is 0.50% but from a short record, 1.7 million drive-days; Toshiba rates it 550 TB a year with a 1 GiB buffer.

    Backblaze has run this model for a short time, 1.7 million drive-days, so its failure rate is an early read.

    Recording
    CMR, 7200 rpm
    Workload rating
    550 TB a year
    Warranty
    5 years
    Backblaze failure rate
    0.50% lifetime failure rate over 1.7 million drive-days

    Where each fact comes from

    Recording
    CMR, 7200 rpm Maker sheet
    Workload rating
    550 TB a year Maker sheet
    Warranty
    5 years Maker sheet
    Failure rate
    0.50% lifetime failure rate over 1.7 million drive-days Fleet failure data
    How it clears the bar
    Toshiba MG11: each requirement of its tier and the drive’s own value
    RequirementThe barThis driveSource kind
    CMR recordingRequiredCMRMaker sheet
    7200 rpmRequired7200 rpmMaker sheet
    Workload rating550 TB a year550 TB a yearMaker sheet
    Warranty5 years5 yearsMaker sheet
    Capacity20 TB or more24TBMaker sheet
    Backblaze dataA model in the lifetime tableMG11ACA24TE is in the lifetime tableFleet failure data
    Full specs
    Interface
    SATA 6 Gb/s
    Recording
    CMR (conventional, not shingled), 7200 rpm
    Buffer
    1 GiB
    Sustained rate
    295 MiB/s at best, per the maker
    Case
    Helium, 10 disks
    Workload rating
    550 TB a year
    Reliability
    2,500,000 hours
    Warranty
    5 years
    Form factor
    3.5-inch
    Part number
    MG11ACA24TE
    Backblaze
    MG11ACA24TE: 23 failures in 1,694,377 drive-days, 9,620 drives

All picks side by side

Every figure is the one on the drive’s card. Press a column heading to sort; press it again to reverse. A drive Backblaze does not run has no failure rate, so its cell says so.

Internal hard drive picks

Tier and pickDriveRecordingCacheSustained rateWorkload rating (TB a year)Warranty (years)Backblaze failure rateLaunched
Desktop and backup · Best pickToshiba X300 Pro 12TBCMR512 MiBNot stated by Toshiba3005Not run by BackblazeBy December 2023
Desktop and backup · 2nd pickWD_BLACK 3.5-inch 8TBCMR256 MB267 MB/sNot stated5Not run by BackblazeJuly 2024
NAS · Best pickSeagate IronWolf Pro 24TBCMR512 MB285 MB/s5505Not run by BackblazeNovember 2023
NAS · 2nd pickWD Red Pro 22TBCMR512 MB265 MB/s5505Not run by BackblazeJanuary 2025
NAS · 3rd pickToshiba N300 Pro 24TBCMR1 GiB309 MB/s5505Not run by BackblazeApril 2025
High-capacity archive · Best pickWD Ultrastar DC HC570 22TBCMR512 MB291 MB/s55050.58%August 2022
High-capacity archive · 2nd pickToshiba MG10 20TBCMR512 MiB268 MiB/s55050.79%Announced October 2022
High-capacity archive · 3rd pickToshiba MG11 24TBCMR1 GiB295 MiB/s55050.5%September 2024

How we pick

A drive becomes a pick when it clears the bar for its tier, takes every spec we print from the maker’s own data sheet, and has at least one published review saved in our library. High-capacity drives, which reviewers cover least, can stand on a place in Backblaze’s lifetime failure table instead of a review. Among drives that clear the bar, the order follows the evidence: Backblaze’s failure rate and the size of the base behind it, then the reviews.

The bar for every tier is drawn at the top of this page, in the overview.

Budget desktop drives with two-year warranties are left off, including the plain Seagate BarraCuda, which Tom’s Hardware says is shingled below 16 TB, and the WD Blue. An older drive can still win its tier; when it launched more than three years before the check date, its card says so. Where a card gives a date taken from a data sheet instead of a launch announcement, it says that too.

Popularity plays no part: a drive is here because of its data sheet, its failure data and its reviews, not because it sells well. We check the picks again when new reviews or a new Backblaze report come out.

Reading the cards

CMR means conventional magnetic recording: the tracks sit side by side, so any one can be rewritten alone. Shingled recording (SMR) overlaps the tracks to fit more data, and rewriting the middle of a band can force the drive to rewrite the rest of it, which makes sustained writes and RAID rebuilds slow and unpredictable. Every pick here is CMR.

The workload rating is the most data per year the maker says the drive is built to move, reads and writes together, and the warranty may depend on staying under it. The meter fills against the highest rating on this page. Where a data sheet states none, the card says so.

Backblaze’s drive stats come from the drives in its own data centers, which are almost all enterprise models, so desktop and NAS lines mostly show “Not reported”. A model appears in the lifetime table only with more than 500 drives and more than 100,000 drive-days; a rate on a small base is an early read, and the card says so. Failure rates in a data center are not a promise for your drive at home.

Where a review quotes a different workload rating or cache than the data sheet, the card follows the data sheet. This page does not show prices, because a page built once cannot keep a price current. For why storage prices are moving, read The Memory Cycle.

Also considered

Products the reviews we read tested that did not make the cut, and the reason each one missed.

Desktop and backup

NAS

High-capacity archive

Questions before you buy

What is the difference between CMR and SMR?

A CMR drive writes its tracks side by side, so a rewrite touches only that track. An SMR drive overlaps tracks like roof shingles, so changing data in the middle can force the drive to rewrite a whole band, and writes slow down and turn uneven. Every pick on this page is CMR. How a hard drive works.

Do I need a NAS drive, or will a desktop drive do?

NAS drives are made for 24/7 use in multi-bay boxes, and the NAS picks here carry a 550 TB a year workload rating and a five-year warranty. A desktop drive is fine for one PC or a backup that runs now and then. Running a NAS.

What does a workload rating mean?

It is the maker’s figure for how much data the drive is meant to read and write in a year. The NAS and archive tiers here ask for 550 TB a year, and a lower rating, like the 300 TB on the Toshiba X300 Pro, marks a drive meant for lighter use.

Does helium matter?

Helium is thinner than air, so the platters spin with less drag and the drive draws less power. It is a sign of a modern high-capacity design, but it does not replace checking the recording type, workload rating and warranty. Why drives are sealed with helium.

What does Backblaze failure data tell me?

Backblaze publishes failure rates for the drives it runs in its own data centers. A low rate over millions of drive-days, like the lifetime rows for the archive picks, is useful evidence, but it describes one fleet’s use and not a promise for your drive. A short record, like the Toshiba MG11’s, is an early read.

Should I back up to a hard drive or an SSD?

A hard drive holds the most data per drive, so it suits large backups that rarely change. An SSD is faster and has no moving parts, which helps for a small, frequently used backup. Best SSDs.