Timelines · Maker advisories
Storage Failures Hall of Shame
Drives that lost data, stopped working after a set number of hours, crashed the computer, dropped off it or slowed down, each taken from the advisory the drive’s own seller published, with the fixed firmware where the seller names one. Ranked by what the seller says happens, worst first, and not by anyone’s guess at how many drives were hit.
How to read it
8 of these advisories tie the failure to a count of power-on hours, the time a drive has spent switched on: once a drive has run that long on the old firmware, it fails. HPE’s advisory puts the soonest at 4,700 power-on hours, which is 195 days, 20 hours of running without a break. Cisco, Dell and HPE each published an advisory for drives that fail at 40,000 hours, 4 years, 206 days, 16 hours, which Cisco rounds to 4.5 years.
The board ranks by harm first, in an order we chose: loses data, drive stops working, crashes the computer, drops off the computer and slows down. A row’s harm follows the seller’s own words, so two advisories can describe the same symptom and still sit in different tiers: Cisco and Dell both say the drive reports 0 GB and goes offline, but only Cisco says data is lost. Inside a harm, a defect with an hour count ranks ahead of one without, fewest hours first, since a drive that fails sooner leaves less time to update it.
Hours until the drive fails8 advisories
Only the advisories that give an hour count. Tap a bar to jump to its row.
Power-on hours until the drive fails
- Loses data
- Drive stops working
- Drops off the computer
- Each year of running day and night
The board23 rows
Ranked by harm, then by hours to failure. Tap a heading to sort by it, or filter by seller and interface.
| Rank | Seller | Drives | Interface | What happens | At power-on hours | In the seller’s words, our summary | Fixed firmware | Seller source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | HPE | Certain HPE NVMe SSD models | NVMe | Loses data | 4,700 195 days, 20 hours | The drive fails at that hour count, and HPE says neither the drive nor its data can be recovered. | 4ICRHPK3 | HPE customer bulletin |
| 2 | HPE | Certain HPE SAS SSD models | SAS | Loses data | 32,768 3 years, 270 days, 8 hours | The drive fails at that hour count, and HPE says the data on it is lost. | HPD8 | HPE SAS SSD remediation guide |
| 3 | Cisco | Certain Cisco UCS SAS SSD models | SAS | Loses data | 40,000 4 years, 206 days, 16 hours | The drive reports 0 GB of storage, goes offline and becomes unusable, and Cisco says data is lost. | C405 | Cisco field notice FN70545 |
| 3 | HPE | Certain HPE SAS SSD models | SAS | Loses data | 40,000 4 years, 206 days, 16 hours | The drive fails at that hour count, and HPE says the data on it is lost. HPE says the defect is not unique to HPE. | HPD7 | HPE SAS SSD remediation guide |
| 5 | HPE | Certain HPE SAS hard drives, 4 TB to 14 TB | SAS | Loses data | 65,536 7 years, 175 days, 16 hours | The hard drive fails at that hour count and cannot be recovered, and HPE warns of data loss. | HPD3, HPD4, HPD5, HPD7 | HPE customer bulletin |
| 5 | HPE | Certain HPE SATA hard drives, 4 TB to 14 TB | SATA | Loses data | 65,536 7 years, 175 days, 16 hours | The hard drive fails at that hour count and cannot be recovered, and HPE warns of data loss. | HPG4, HPG5, HPG6, HPG8 | HPE customer bulletin |
| 7 | Dell | Dell Intel S4510 and S4610 SSDs, 1.92 TB and 3.84 TB | SATA | Loses data | not stated | The drive can stop answering the host or fail early, and after a power cycle Dell says its data cannot be recovered. | DL63, XCV10110 | Dell knowledge base article |
| 8 | Lenovo | Kioxia BG5 SSDs in ThinkPad, ThinkCentre and ideacentre PCs | NVMe | Loses data | not stated | Large installs or file copies can hang the PC, then the drive is never detected again and its data is lost. | 1107ANLA | Lenovo support article |
| 9 | Dell | Dell Enterprise SAS SSDs LT0200MO to LT0800WM, 9 models | SAS | Drive stops working | 40,000 4 years, 206 days, 16 hours | The drive reports 0 GB of storage, goes offline and cannot be used after a power cycle. | D417 | Dell knowledge base article |
| 10 | Dell | Dell Toshiba PM2, PM2+ and PM2R SAS SSDs, 9 part numbers | SAS | Drive stops working | 70,000 7 years, 361 days, 16 hours | The drive locks after a power cycle, takes no reads or writes and shows as 0 GB, and a firmware update unlocks it. | A3B4, A4B4, A5B4 | Dell knowledge base article |
| 11 | Dell | Dell Enterprise Intel SATA SSDs, 20 part numbers from 240 GB to 7.6 TB | SATA | Drive stops working | not stated | The drive may fail early, and the server may show it as failed or missing. | DL7A | Dell knowledge base article |
| 12 | Dell | Micron 7450 and 7500 NVMe SSDs sold by Dell | NVMe | Drive stops working | not stated | The drive may fail to initialize, and Dell says a drive that hits this cannot be recovered. | E2MU300, E3MQ005 | Dell knowledge base article |
| 13 | Dell | Samsung PM883a SATA SSDs sold by Dell | SATA | Drive stops working | not stated | In rare cases the drive reports ERRORMOD and 0 GB, and the failed drive may become inaccessible. | HG58 | Dell knowledge base article |
| 14 | Lenovo | ThinkSystem Samsung PM1653 and PM1655 SAS SSDs on firmware CA00 | SAS | Drive stops working | not stated | Garbage collection falls behind, the drive times out, and a RAID controller marks it failed for good. | CA01 | Lenovo technical tip |
| 15 | HPE | HPE NVMe SSDs on firmware MPK77H5Q, MPK7725Q or HPK5 | NVMe | Crashes the computer | not stated | The drive may cause an uncorrectable machine check exception on HPE Gen9 to Gen11 servers. | MPK7825Q, MPK78H5Q, HPK6 | HPE customer advisory |
| 16 | Sandisk | 2 TB WD_BLACK SN770 and SN770M, WD Blue SN580 and SN5000, SANDISK Extreme M.2 | NVMe | Crashes the computer | not stated | A Host Memory Buffer issue may crash Windows 11 24H2 with a blue screen, and Microsoft may hold back the 24H2 upgrade until the drive is updated. | 731130WD, 281050WD, 291020WD | Sandisk support article |
| 17 | Cisco | Micron M500IT SATA SSD in Cisco UCS 6324 and 6332 fabric interconnects | SATA | Drops off the computer | 28,224 3 years, 81 days | The drive becomes unresponsive until a power cycle, and Cisco says no data is lost. | CZ03, MC03, MU05 | Cisco field notice FN72028 |
| 17 | Cisco | Micron M500IT SATA SSD in Cisco Nexus 9000 and 3000 switches | SATA | Drops off the computer | 28,224 3 years, 81 days | The drive stops responding and the switch bootflash goes read-only, and it comes back after a power cycle for about six more weeks. | MC03, MU05 | Cisco field notice FN72150 |
| 19 | HPE | Certain HPE NVMe SSD models | NVMe | Drops off the computer | not stated | After resets the drive may show as 0 GB and stay undetected until the host is rebooted or power cycled. | EPK76H3Q, MPK76H5Q, MPK7625Q, HPK6 | HPE customer advisory |
| 20 | Lenovo | ThinkSystem M.2 Micron 7450 PRO 480 GB and 960 GB on firmware E2MU300 | NVMe | Drops off the computer | not stated | After under 1% of power cycles the server logs the drive as faulted and its RAID volume can go offline until the next power cycle. | not named | Lenovo technical tip |
| 21 | Lenovo | ThinkSystem Solidigm S4520 7.68 TB SATA SSDs | SATA | Drops off the computer | not stated | After a warm reboot from ESXi the drive may not be seen by the server controller, UEFI or ESXi. | not named | Lenovo technical tip |
| 22 | Sandisk | SANDISK Extreme and Extreme PRO Portable SSD, WD My Passport SSD, made before 2023 | USB | Drops off the computer | not stated | Some drives unexpectedly disconnect from the computer. Sandisk says to back up and verify data before updating. | not named | Sandisk support article |
| 23 | Dell | Micron 5100 and 5200 SATA SSDs sold by Dell | SATA | Slows down | 65,535 7 years, 175 days, 15 hours | A 16-bit log counter tops out and the drive floods its own debug log, so reads and writes slow; Dell says no data is lost. | L013, F006 | Dell knowledge base article |
What it will not tell you
It does not tell you how many drives failed. No advisory here gives a count, so the board ranks by what the seller says happens, which is a ranking of harm and not of how widespread a defect was. Cisco, Dell and HPE each give 40,000 hours, and Cisco and Dell describe the same symptom. HPE says its defect came from an SSD supplier and is not unique to HPE, but none of these pages says whether the three are one part.
A seller on this board is the one that published the advisory, which is not always the company that made the drive or wrote its firmware. The board holds only defects whose seller still publishes its own advisory, so failures known only from forums, news stories or a seller page that is gone are left out, however well known they are. The update protects a drive that has not reached the defect yet; Cisco says a drive that already reached 40,000 hours is unusable and must be replaced. Each row links the seller’s page it was read from on November 3, 2026.
The guides behind this data
- Does an SSD Fail With No Warning?
Data-center studies show SSD errors repeat and the drive counts them, but the counters sit in a log few people read and the usual reliability number misses it.
- Flash Foundations, Part 5: The Controller
Meet the processor coordinating the host, NAND, and the firmware inside an SSD.
- Do SSDs Wear Out in a Couple of Years?
My SMART data from a system drive, a test bench, new and used drives, against the ratings and field studies: a desktop SSD wears far slower than the myth says.