Timelines · Sourced data
Standards
The standards that decide how storage and memory connect to a computer, in eight areas. Each area has its history, from the first spec to the newest sample or shipping part, the headline speed by year, and the documents its bodies have published, every row from the body that wrote it or the maker that built it.
How to read it
A drive or a memory module is only as fast as the link between it and the processor, and that link is a written standard. The page holds 143 rows from 107 public sources. Most are one step of one standard: the spec published, a sample, or a first shipping part, drawn on a lane for its family. 45 are documents a standards body published in 2026, linked to the body’s own page. Context rows, such as an update or the newest revision, are drawn as hollow squares because they are not firsts. Where a maker claims a first, the row says it is the maker’s claim.
A date is as exact as its source: a day, a month or only a year. Speeds are the headline rate each source prints. GT/s is gigatransfers per second on one lane or pin, MT/s is megatransfers per second, and Gb/s is gigabits per second, and these standards count a transfer as one bit on one wire, so the three agree number for number. USB and Thunderbolt quote the total for the whole link, so they get their own chart in plain Gb/s. Real throughput is lower once encoding and protocol overhead are taken off.
NAND flash interface30 rows
How a controller talks to NAND: ONFI, Toggle and JEDEC’s JESD230, and the fastest speed each revision allows. The NAND Die Timeline draws the same speeds as its dashed line.
Swipe the timeline sideways to reach the years since 2015.
- Spec published
- Sample
- Shipping
- Context, not a first
Interface speed (MT/s)
- ONFI
- JESD230
- Toggle
| Standard | Who | Stage | Measure | Headline speed | Date | Source | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| JESD230G.02 NAND flash interface interoperability (with ONFI) | JEDEC | Published | September 2026 | JEDEC page | NAND interface standard developed by JEDEC and ONFI. JEDEC's catalog page does not say what changed from JESD230G, so no speed is shown. | ||
| ONFI 6.0, legacy interfaces dropped | ONFI | Spec published | 4,800 MT/s | 4,800 MT/s | January 2026 | ONFI 2026 | |
| Toggle 6.0 | Toggle | Spec published | 4,800 MT/s | 4,800 MT/s, fastest mode | February 2025 | Sandisk/Kioxia 2025 | Kioxia/Sandisk ISSCC release (19 Feb 2025): 4.8 Gb/s interface using 'Toggle DDR6.0'. Sandisk BiCS10 sampling release (2 Jul 2026) repeats 'up to 4.8Gb/s' with Toggle DDR6.0. Date is the vendor announcement; JEDEC JESD230G (Nov 2024) already defines 4800 MT/s, but no page opened says JESD230G is Toggle 6.0, so the link is unproven. The 4.8 figure is a vendor-achieved rate; the defined maximum of Toggle 6.0 is not stated on those pages. |
| JESD230G NAND interface standard | JEDEC | Spec published | 4,800 MT/s (first version: 400) | 4,800 MT/s | November 18, 2024 | JEDEC 2024 | |
| ONFI 5.2 | ONFI | Spec published | 3,600 MT/s | 3,600 MT/s, fastest mode | October 2024 | ONFI 2024 | Table 4-1: NV-DDR3 / NV-LPDDR4 Maximum Speed 3600 MT/s (no speed increase; adds the SCA protocol). Specs page: 'Published in Oct of 2024', spec file dated Oct. 3, 2024; PDF cover reads 27 February 2024 (document revision date versus posting date). Defined maximum. |
| Samsung 9th-generation V-NAND, on Toggle 5.1 | Samsung | First shipping (maker’s claim) | 3.2 Gb/s | 3,200 MT/s | April 23, 2024 | Samsung 2024 | Samsung’s own claim of an industry first for the 9th generation. |
| Toggle 5.1 | Toggle | Spec published | 3,200 MT/s | 3,200 MT/s, fastest mode | April 2024 | Samsung 2024 | Samsung 9th-gen V-NAND release, 23 Apr 2024: 'Toggle 5.1 ... up to 3.2 Gbps'. Korean version footnote lists Toggle DDR 5.1 = 3.2Gbps. Date is first-product announcement. |
| Samsung 8th-generation V-NAND, on Toggle DDR 5.0 | Samsung | Shipping (not claimed first) | 2.4 Gb/s | 2,400 MT/s | November 7, 2022 | Samsung 2022 | A context row: Samsung does not claim this was the first Toggle DDR 5.0 part. |
| Toggle 5.0 | Toggle | Spec published | 2,400 MT/s | 2,400 MT/s, fastest mode | November 2022 | Samsung 2022 | Samsung 8th-gen V-NAND release (Nov 2022): 'Toggle DDR 5.0 interface ... the latest NAND flash standard', I/O up to 2.4 Gbps; editor note lists 5.0 = 2,400Mbps. Date is first-product announcement (page dated 6 Nov US, 7 Nov global). |
| ONFI 5.1 | ONFI | Spec published | 3,600 MT/s | 3,600 MT/s | August 2022 | ONFI 2026 | |
| ONFI 5.0, with the new NV-LPDDR4 interface | ONFI | Spec published | 2,400 MT/s | 2,400 MT/s | May 2021 | ONFI 2026 | |
| ONFI 4.2 | ONFI | Spec published | 1,600 MT/s | 1,600 MT/s | February 2020 | ONFI 2026 | |
| JESD230D | JEDEC | Spec published | 1,200 MT/s | 1,200 MT/s, fastest mode | October 2019 | JEDEC 2019 | Bytes 146-147 Toggle Mode DDR2 and NV-DDR2: fastest 2.5 ns (400 MHz) = 800 MT/s. Bytes 172-173 'Toggle Mode DDR3/4 and NV-DDR3': fastest bit 12 = 1.667 ns (~600 MHz) = 1200 MT/s (derived). ONFI page date Oct. 21, 2019; the PDF download watermark and JESD230F's change list say June 2019 (conflict). Defined maximum. |
| Toggle 4.0 | Toggle | Spec published | 1,200 MT/s | 1,200 MT/s, fastest mode | July 2018 | Samsung 2022 | Rate: Samsung editor note lists 4.0 = 1,200Mbps. Date: Samsung press release of 10 Jul 2018 claims 'the industry's first use of the Toggle DDR 4.0 interface' on 5th-gen V-NAND and states 1.4 Gbps for that product. 1.4 is Samsung's product speed, above its own 1,200 definition, so 1200 is used as the standard figure. The date is a first-use announcement, not the spec publication date. Samsung's VLSI 2020 F-chip paper (Table 1, with its earlier F-chip as prior work) lists 1.333 Gb/s/pin for Toggle 3.0 and 1.8 Gb/s/pin for Toggle 4.0. Those are retimed multi-chip-package rates through a buffer chip, not the per-die standard rate, so max_mts stays. |
| ONFI 4.1 | ONFI | Spec published | 1,200 MT/s | 1,200 MT/s, fastest mode | December 2017 | ONFI 2017 | Table 26: NV-DDR3 Maximum Speed 1200 MT/s. Specs page: 'Published in December of 2017 ... NV-DDR3 I/O speeds to 1066 MT/s and 1200 MT/s'; spec dated Dec. 12, 2017. Defined maximum. |
| JESD230C | JEDEC | Spec published | 400 MT/s | 400 MT/s, fastest mode | November 2016 | JEDEC 2016 | Bytes 146-147 Toggle Mode DDR and NV-DDR2 speed grade, fastest bit 7 = 5 ns (200 MHz) = 400 MT/s (derived). ONFI page: 'published November 2016'. JESD230F's own change list calls it October 2016 (conflict, month unsettled). Defined maximum. |
| JESD230B | JEDEC | Spec published | 400 MT/s | 400 MT/s, fastest mode | July 2014 | JEDEC 2014 | Parameter page bytes 146-147 'Toggle Mode DDR and NV-DDR2 speed grade': fastest is bit 7, 5 ns (200 MHz) = 400 MT/s (derived, 2 / 5 ns). ONFI page: 'published July 2014'. This is the JEDEC speed-grade ceiling, below ONFI 3.2 (533) and 4.0 (800) at the time. Defined maximum. |
| ONFI 4.0, with the NV-DDR3 interface at 1.2 V | ONFI | Spec published | 800 MT/s | 800 MT/s | April 2014 | ONFI 2026 | |
| ONFI 3.2 | ONFI | Spec published | 533 MT/s | 533 MT/s, fastest mode | June 2013 | ONFI 2013 | Table 22: SDR 200 MT/s, NV-DDR2 533 MT/s. Specs page: 'Published in June of 2013 ... scales NV-DDR2 I/O speed to 533 MT/s'; spec dated June 13, 2013. Defined maximum. |
| JESD230 | JEDEC | Spec published | 400 MT/s | 400 MT/s, fastest mode | November 2012 | JEDEC 2024 | Date: JEDEC/ONFI joint press release dated 6 Nov 2012 (ONFI page: 'Nov. 1, 2012', 'published October 2012'). That 2012 release describes a package/pinout-focused document and states no speed. The 400 MT/s figure is JEDEC's own 2024 statement 'compared to 400 MT/s in the first version of JESD230 published in 2011', which also gives 2011 as the year, contradicting 2012. A Kioxia article (secondary, not used) says 133 MT/s. Treat the rate as low confidence. |
| ONFI 3.1 | ONFI | Spec published | 400 MT/s | 400 MT/s, fastest mode | October 2012 | ONFI 2012 | Table 21: maximum speed 200 MT/s and 400 MT/s (NV-DDR2 400). Specs page says 'Published in October of 2012'; the spec file is dated Sep. 21, 2012 (errata Oct. 12, 2012). Defined maximum, no speed increase over 3.0. |
| ONFI 2.3 | ONFI | Spec published | 200 MT/s | 200 MT/s, fastest mode | October 2011 | ONFI 2011 | Published October 2011 (ONFI 2.3a spec dated Oct. 19, 2011, errata to 2.2 plus EZ-NAND). Source-synchronous mode 5 tCK 10 ns (~100 MHz) DDR = 200 MT/s. Defined maximum. |
| ONFI 3.0 | ONFI | Spec published | Up to 400 MB/s | 400 MT/s, fastest mode | March 2011 | ONFI 2026 | |
| Toggle 2.0 | Toggle | Spec published | 400 MT/s | 400 MT/s, fastest mode | July 2010 | Toshiba/Samsung (hosted by KIOXIA) 2010 | Announcement date: Samsung and Toshiba, 22 Jul 2010, commitment to a 400 Mbps toggle DDR 2.0 specification and to standardising it through JEDEC. Samsung 2022 note also lists 2.0 = 400Mbps. This is the announcement of the spec, not first shipment. |
| ONFI 2.2 | ONFI | Spec published | 200 MT/s | 200 MT/s, fastest mode | October 2009 | ONFI 2009 | 'Ratified in October of 2009'; spec date Oct. 7, 2009. Source-synchronous timing mode 5 tCK 10 ns (~100 MHz) DDR = 200 MT/s. Defined maximum. |
| ONFI 2.1 | ONFI | Spec published | 200 MT/s | 200 MT/s, fastest mode | January 2009 | ONFI 2009 | ONFI page: 'ratified in January of 2009 ... speeds of 166 MB/s and 200 MB/s'; spec date Jan. 14, 2009. 200 MT/s = source-synchronous mode 5 (10 ns / ~100 MHz DDR; mode 5 table read in the 2.2 and 2.3a PDFs, not directly in the 2.1 extraction). Defined maximum. |
| ONFI 2.0 | ONFI | Spec published | Revision 2.0 | 133 MT/s, fastest mode | February 27, 2008 | ONFI 2008 | |
| ONFI 1.0 | ONFI | Spec published | 50 MT/s | 50 MT/s, fastest mode | December 2006 | ONFI 2006 | Asynchronous (SDR) only. Fastest timing mode 5 has tRC 20 ns (EDO capable), so 1/20 ns = 50 MT/s (derived from the table, not a stated figure). Date is the spec date on the ONFI specs page (Dec. 28, 2006). The specs page text for 2.0 says the legacy interface was limited to 50 MB/s. Defined maximum. |
| Toggle 1.0 | Toggle | Spec published | 133 MT/s | 133 MT/s, fastest mode | Not dated | Toshiba/Samsung (hosted by KIOXIA) 2010 | Samsung/Toshiba release of 22 Jul 2010: 'The current toggle DDR 1.0 specification ... has a 133Mbps interface'. Samsung 2022 and 2024 footnotes also list 1.0 = 133Mbps. The 1.0 introduction date is not stated on any page opened, so 'published' is null. Vendor-defined, not a JEDEC revision. |
| Toggle 3.0 | Toggle | Spec published | 800 MT/s | 800 MT/s, fastest mode | Not dated | Samsung 2022 | Rate only: Samsung editor note (Nov 2022) lists 3.0 = 800Mbps; repeated in the 2024 Korean footnote. No page opened gives the date Toggle 3.0 was announced, so 'published' is null. Samsung's VLSI 2020 F-chip paper (Table 1, with its earlier F-chip as prior work) lists 1.333 Gb/s/pin for Toggle 3.0 and 1.8 Gb/s/pin for Toggle 4.0. Those are retimed multi-chip-package rates through a buffer chip, not the per-die standard rate, so max_mts stays. |
DRAM and HBM34 rows
JEDEC’s DRAM interfaces, DDR, LPDDR, GDDR and HBM, and the module parts around them, such as power chips and data buffers. The DRAM and HBM timelines draw the DDR and HBM speeds as their dashed lines.
Swipe the timeline sideways to reach the years since 2015.
- Spec published
- Sample
- Shipping
- Context, not a first
Data rate per pin (Gb/s)
- HBM
- DDR
- LPDDR
| Standard | Who | Stage | Measure | Headline speed | Date | Source | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| JESD82-543 DDR5MRCD03 multiplexed rank registering clock driver | JEDEC | Published | September 2026 | JEDEC page | A DDR5 registering clock driver with parity and CRC that drives the address and control nets on MRDIMMs. | ||
| JESD239F GDDR7 | JEDEC | Published | August 2026 | JEDEC page | GDDR7 graphics memory. | ||
| SPHBM4: HBM4-class bandwidth on organic substrates | JEDEC | Spec published | JESD330-4 | July 13, 2026 | JEDEC 2026 | ||
| JESD328 SOCAMM2 common standard (LPDDR5/5X), v1.00 | JEDEC | Published | June 2026 | JEDEC page | Module standard built on LPDDR5 and LPDDR5X. | ||
| CAMM2 Raw Card E annex (JESD318 F0 RCE), v2.00 | JEDEC | Published | May 2026 | JEDEC page | Annex to the CAMM2 module standard. | ||
| JESD82-552 DDR5MDB02 multiplexed rank data buffer | JEDEC | Published | April 30, 2026 | JEDEC page | DDR5 multiplexed rank data buffer, announced with other parts of the DDR5 MRDIMM ecosystem. | ||
| JESD406-5D LPDDR5/5X SPD contents | JEDEC | Published | March 24, 2026 | JEDEC page | Updated LPDDR5 and LPDDR5X SPD contents, with enhanced mode-switching support. | ||
| JESD301-5 PMIC5030 (DDR5 module power-management chip), v1.00 | JEDEC | Published | January 2026 | JEDEC page | Power-management chip spec for DDR5 modules. | ||
| JESD270-4A (HBM4) | JEDEC | Published | December 2025 | JEDEC page | Version 1.1 on the catalog page. | ||
| JESD79-5D (DDR5) | JEDEC | Published | November 2025 | JEDEC page | Version 1.41, the current DDR5 edition on the catalog page. | ||
| LPDDR6 | JEDEC | Spec published | 2 sub-channels of 12 data lines | July 9, 2025 | JEDEC 2025 | ||
| JESD209-6 (LPDDR6) | JEDEC | Published | July 2025 | JEDEC page | JEDEC’s LPDDR page says LPDDR6 was published in July 2025. | ||
| HBM4 (JESD270-4) | JEDEC | Spec published | 8 Gb/s, 2,048-bit, up to 2 TB/s | 8 Gb/s per pin | April 16, 2025 | JEDEC 2025 | |
| JESD238B.01 (HBM3) | JEDEC | Published | April 2025 | JEDEC page | HBM3 DRAM. | ||
| DDR5 JESD79-5C | JEDEC | Spec published | 8,800 MT/s | 8,800 MT/s, fastest mode | April 2024 | JEDEC 2024 | Release dated 2024-04-17: timing parameters defined up to 8800 Mbps per pin. JESD79-5D (Version 1.41) followed in November 2025; its public landing page prints no speed, so none is recorded. |
| GDDR7, the first JEDEC DRAM standard with PAM signaling | JEDEC | Spec published | PAM3 signaling | March 5, 2024 | JEDEC 2024 | ||
| JESD209-5C (LPDDR5 and LPDDR5X) | JEDEC | Published | July 2023 | JEDEC page | Current LPDDR5 and LPDDR5X edition on the catalog page. | ||
| HBM3 | JEDEC | Spec published | 6.4 Gb/s per pin, 819 GB/s per device | 6.4 Gb/s per pin | January 27, 2022 | JEDEC 2022 | |
| DDR5 JESD79-5A | JEDEC | Spec published | 6,400 MT/s | 6,400 MT/s, fastest mode | October 2021 | JEDEC 2021 | Release dated 2021-10-26: timing definitions up to 6400 MT/s for DRAM core timings and 5600 MT/s for IO AC timings, to support an ecosystem up to 5600 MT/s. |
| JESD235D (HBM and HBM2) | JEDEC | Published | March 2021 | JEDEC page | Catalog page for the first two HBM generations. | ||
| DDR5 | JEDEC | Spec published | Launch at 4.8 Gb/s | 4.8 Gb/s per pin | July 14, 2020 | JEDEC 2020 | |
| LPDDR5 | JEDEC | Spec published | 6,400 MT/s | 6.4 Gb/s per pin | February 19, 2019 | JEDEC 2019 | |
| JESD235B | JEDEC | Spec published | 307 GB/s per stack | 2.4 Gb/s per pin | December 2018 | JEDEC 2018 | Press release dated 17 December 2018. It states 2.4Gb/s per pin, up to 307GB/s and up to 24GB from 12-high stacks. |
| Samsung, the first 4 GB HBM2 package, in mass production | Samsung | First shipping (maker’s claim) | 4 GB package | January 19, 2016 | Samsung 2016 | Samsung’s own claim. | |
| HBM2 (JESD235A) | JEDEC | Spec published | 256 GB/s per device, 1,024-bit | 256 GB/s per stack | January 12, 2016 | JEDEC 2016 | |
| HBM (JESD235) | JEDEC | Spec published (secondary date) | JESD235, the first HBM standard | October 2013 | Cadence 2025 | Date from secondary sources, not JEDEC: a 2025 Cadence blog and the Ramulator paper’s reference list. JEDEC’s own pages do not date the first edition. | |
| DDR4 | JEDEC | Spec published | 1.6 to 3.2 GT/s per pin | 3.2 Gb/s per pin | September 25, 2012 | JEDEC 2012 | |
| DDR2 SDRAM, JESD79-2F | JEDEC | Latest edition | DDR2-400 to DDR2-800 | November 2009 | JEDEC 2009 | A context row: the edition JEDEC lists today, a revision of JESD79-2E. The first DDR2 publication date is not sourced. | |
| DDR2 SDRAM, JESD79-2E | JEDEC | Earlier edition | April 2008 | JEDEC 2009 | Edition dated April 2008, as JESD79-2F names it in its annex of changes between editions. | ||
| DDR3 | JEDEC | Spec published | 800 to 1,600 MT/s | 1.6 Gb/s per pin | June 26, 2007 | JEDEC 2007 | |
| DDR2 SDRAM, JESD79-2D | JEDEC | Earlier edition | January 2007 | JEDEC 2009 | Edition dated January 2007, as JESD79-2F names it in its annex of changes between editions. | ||
| DDR2 SDRAM, JESD79-2C | JEDEC | Earlier edition | January 2006 | JEDEC 2009 | Edition dated January 2006, as JESD79-2F names it in its annex of changes between editions. | ||
| DDR2 SDRAM, JESD79-2B | JEDEC | Earlier edition | January 2005 | JEDEC 2009 | Edition dated January 2005, as JESD79-2F names it in its annex of changes between editions. | ||
| DDR SDRAM standard, JESD79 | JEDEC | Spec published | JESD79 | 2000 | JEDEC 2026 |
Host links: PCIe and CXL16 rows
PCIe sets the lanes between a drive and the processor, and CXL lets memory share them.
Swipe the timeline sideways to reach the years since 2015.
- Spec published
- Sample
- Shipping
- Context, not a first
Link rate per lane (GT/s)
- CXL
- PCIe
| Standard | Who | Stage | Measure | Headline speed | Date | Source | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PCIe 8.0 Specification, Draft 0.5 | PCI-SIG | Published | May 1, 2026 | PCI-SIG page | First official draft, for members. PCI-SIG’s post sets a target and a release in 2028. | ||
| Micron 9650, the first PCIe Gen6 SSD in mass production | Micron | First shipping (maker’s claim) | Gen6; 28 GB/s | February 11, 2026 | Micron 2026 | Micron’s own claim. | |
| CXL 4.0 doubles the rate to 128 GT/s | CXL Consortium | Spec published | 128 GT/s | 128 GT/s per lane | November 18, 2025 | CXL Consortium 2025 | |
| PCI Express Base 7.0 doubles the rate to 128 GT/s | PCI-SIG | Spec published | Base 7.0 | 128 GT/s per lane | June 11, 2025 | PCI-SIG 2026PCI-SIG 2025 (speed) | |
| CXL 3.0: fabrics, at twice the rate of CXL 2.0 | CXL Consortium | Spec published | 64 GT/s | 64 GT/s per lane | August 2, 2022 | CXL Consortium 2022CXL Consortium 2023 (speed) | |
| PCI Express Base 6.0: PAM4 signaling at 64 GT/s | PCI-SIG | Spec published | Base 6.0 | 64 GT/s per lane | January 11, 2022 | PCI-SIG 2026PCI-SIG 2026 (speed) | |
| Samsung unveils the first memory module for CXL, DDR5-based and validated on Intel server platforms | Samsung | Unveiled (maker’s claim) | DDR5 CXL memory module | May 11, 2021 | Samsung 2021 | Samsung’s own claim of a first, dated by Samsung’s global newsroom. | |
| CXL 2.0: switching and memory pooling | CXL Consortium | Spec published | Revision 2.0 | 32 GT/s per lane | November 10, 2020 | CXL Consortium 2020CXL Consortium 2023 (speed) | |
| Phison calls itself “the first and only company shipping PCIe Gen4x4 NVMe SSD solutions” | Phison | First shipping (maker’s claim) | Gen4 x4 | August 5, 2019 | Phison 2019 | Phison’s own claim. | |
| PCI Express Base 5.0 doubles the rate to 32 GT/s | PCI-SIG | Spec published | Base 5.0 | 32 GT/s per lane | May 22, 2019 | PCI-SIG 2026 | PCI-SIG’s specification list dates revision 5.0, Version 1.0 on 28 May 2019; the FAQ’s release date is used here. |
| CXL 1.0 ratified | CXL Consortium | Spec published | Revision 1.0 | 32 GT/s per lane | March 11, 2019 | CXL Consortium 2019CXL Consortium 2023 (speed) | |
| PCI Express Base 4.0 doubles the rate to 16 GT/s | PCI-SIG | Spec published | Base 4.0 | 16 GT/s per lane | October 5, 2017 | PCI-SIG 2026PCI-SIG 2026 (speed) | |
| SM951, the first M.2 NVMe PCIe SSD for PCs, in mass production | Samsung | First shipping (maker’s claim) | Gen3 x4; 2,260 MB/s read | April 15, 2015 | Samsung 2015 | Samsung’s own claim of a first. | |
| PCI Express Base 3.0 reaches 8 GT/s with 128b/130b encoding | PCI-SIG | Spec published | Base 3.0 | 8 GT/s per lane | November 10, 2010 | PCI-SIG 2026PCI-SIG 2026 (speed) | |
| PCI Express Base 2.0 doubles the rate to 5.0 GT/s | PCI-SIG | Spec published | Base 2.0 | 5 GT/s per lane | December 20, 2006 | PCI-SIG 2026PCI-SIG 2026 (speed) | |
| PCI Express Base 1.1, the oldest base revision on PCI-SIG’s list | PCI-SIG | Spec published | Base 1.1 | 2.5 GT/s per lane | March 8, 2005 | PCI-SIG 2026PCI-SIG 2026 (speed) |
NVMe, drive features and management13 rows
The commands a drive answers, the features added to them over the years, such as zoned namespaces and flexible data placement, and SNIA’s Swordfish for managing storage.
Swipe the timeline sideways to reach the years since 2015.
- Spec published
- Sample
- Shipping
- Context, not a first
| Standard | Who | Stage | Measure | Headline speed | Date | Source | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NVMe Base 2.4, the newest revision | NVM Express | Latest revision | Revision 2.4 | July 31, 2026 | NVM Express 2026 | A context row: the current revision, not a first. | |
| NVMe over PCIe Transport Specification, Revision 1.4 | NVMe | Published | July 31, 2026 | NVMe page | Ratified 31 July 2026. | ||
| Swordfish v1.2.9, published as a SNIA standard | SNIA | Published | July 2026 | SNIA page | Date shown is that of SNIA’s blog post announcing it. | ||
| NVMe Base 2.3 ratified | NVM Express | Spec published | Revision 2.3 | August 1, 2025 | NVM Express 2025 | ||
| Samsung and Meta demonstrate Flexible Data Placement at FMS 2023, cutting write amplification | Samsung and Meta | Demonstrated (earliest found) | FDP with CacheLib | August 2023 | Samsung 2023 | The earliest FDP drive demonstration found; no source found names a first shipping FDP drive. | |
| Flexible Data Placement (TP4146) ratified | NVM Express | Spec published | TP4146 | December 2022 | NVM Express 2023 | The month comes from the date in the ratified archive’s file name. | |
| Western Digital’s Ultrastar DC ZN540 data sheet lists ZNS part and model numbers, the earliest dated product document found | Western Digital | Datasheet, part numbers (earliest found) | ZNS NVMe SSD, 2 TB and 4 TB | September 2021 | Western Digital 2021 | Earliest found, not a claimed first. Western Digital announces no volume shipping date, and the data sheet calls its figures sample specifications. | |
| NVMe 2.0: the base spec split into separate command sets | NVM Express | Spec published | Revision 2.0 | June 3, 2021 | NVM Express 2021 | ||
| Key Value Command Set, in the NVMe 2.0 library | NVM Express | Spec published | KV Command Set | June 3, 2021 | NVM Express 2021 | ||
| Western Digital says it is sampling a ZNS SSD, the Ultrastar DC ZN540 | Western Digital | Sampling | ZNS NVMe SSD | November 9, 2020 | Western Digital 2020 | Western Digital does not call it the first. | |
| NVMe Zoned Namespace (ZNS) Command Set 1.0 | NVM Express | Spec published | ZNS Command Set 1.0 | June 2020 | NVM Express 2022 | NVM Express’s own deck dates the ratification to June 2020 and gives no day. | |
| Samsung builds the first standards-based key value SSD prototype, on SNIA’s KV API | Samsung | Prototype (maker’s claim) | SNIA KV API | September 4, 2019 | Samsung 2019 | Samsung’s own claim of a first, dated 4 September 2019 by Samsung’s US newsroom. A prototype, not a shipping drive; it predates the NVMe KV Command Set. | |
| NVM Express 1.0 ratified | NVM Express | Spec published | Revision 1.0 | March 1, 2011 | NVM Express 2011 |
Data center hardware and form factors28 rows
The Open Compute Project’s data center SSD spec, SNIA’s form factors and connectors, and the wider data center hardware the OCP publishes.
Swipe the timeline sideways to reach the years since 2015.
- Spec published
- Sample
- Shipping
- Context, not a first
| Standard | Who | Stage | Measure | Headline speed | Date | Source | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SFF-TA-1039 PCIe active module/cable supplemental specification 1.0 | SNIA | Published | October 16, 2026 | SNIA page | |||
| SFF-TA-1048 compression mount high-speed cable interconnect 1.0 | SNIA | Published | September 29, 2026 | SNIA page | |||
| SFF-8614 mini multilane 4/8X shielded cage/connector (HDsh) 3.6 | SNIA | Published | July 20, 2026 | SNIA page | |||
| SFF-8419 SFP+ power and low-speed interface 2.0a | SNIA | Published | July 10, 2026 | SNIA page | |||
| SFF-TA-1008 enterprise and datacenter standard form factor (E3) 3.0a | SNIA | Published | July 10, 2026 | SNIA page | The E3 form factor spec. | ||
| SFF-8613 mini multilane 4/8X unshielded connector (HDun) 3.6 | SNIA | Published | June 22, 2026 | SNIA page | |||
| SFF-TA-1038 low-profile high-density flexible cable connector 1.0 | SNIA | Published | June 7, 2026 | SNIA page | |||
| SFF-8024 module management reference code tables 4.14 | SNIA | Published | June 4, 2026 | SNIA page | |||
| SFF-8636 management interface for 4-lane modules and cables 2.12 | SNIA | Published | April 29, 2026 | SNIA page | |||
| SFF-TA-1041 ULP Gen 7 PCIe connector 1.0 | SNIA | Published | April 7, 2026 | SNIA page | |||
| SFF-TA-1044 hybrid orthogonal EDSFF connector system 1.0 | SNIA | Published | March 27, 2026 | SNIA page | |||
| SFF-TA-1045 hybrid orthogonal EDSFF connector pin and signal definition 1.0 | SNIA | Published | March 13, 2026 | SNIA page | |||
| GOV-TA-0001 SFF TWG process guide 3.0 | SNIA | Published | January 30, 2026 | SNIA page | |||
| SFF-9400 Universal 4/8X pinouts 1.1 | SNIA | Published | January 19, 2026 | SNIA page | |||
| SFF-8472 SFP+ management interface 12.5a | SNIA | Published | January 16, 2026 | SNIA page | |||
| BoW.Flexi V1.0.0 | OCP | Published | 2026 | OCP page | |||
| Enhanced Telemetry Optics Product Software Specification V1.0.0 | OCP | Published | 2026 | OCP page | |||
| Foundation Chiplet System Architecture (FCSA) V1.1.0 | OCP | Published | 2026 | OCP page | |||
| MGX Accelerated Computing Rack and Trays Specification V1.2.0 | OCP | Published | 2026 | OCP page | |||
| MQD/MQDB OCP Design Specification V1.0.0 | OCP | Published | 2026 | OCP page | |||
| Open Boot and Management Framework Interface Consolidation Protocol (OBMF-ICP) V1.0.0 | OCP | Published | 2026 | OCP page | |||
| Scale-Up Ethernet Transport (SUE-T) Base Specification v1.0.0 | OCP | Published | 2026 | OCP page | |||
| Single-Phase Direct-to-Chip Cold Plate Test Specification V1.0.0 | OCP | Published | 2026 | OCP page | |||
| Transparent Remote Optical Transceiver Messaging with ePPS Design Specification V0.9.0 | OCP | Published | 2026 | OCP page | |||
| Universal Quick Disconnect (UQD) Specification V2.0.0 | OCP | Published | 2026 | OCP page | |||
| Datacenter NVMe SSD 2.5: telemetry data areas and FDP | Open Compute Project | Spec published | Version 2.5 | September 22, 2023 | Open Compute Project 2025 | ||
| Datacenter NVMe SSD 2.0: latency monitoring, power states, SPDM | Open Compute Project | Spec published | Version 2.0 | May 18, 2021 | Open Compute Project 2025 | ||
| NVMe Cloud SSD Specification 1.0 | Open Compute Project | Spec published | Version 1.0 | March 18, 2020 | Open Compute Project 2020 | The revision table of the later 2.6 specification prints 03/16/2020 for the same release. |
Mobile and embedded storage8 rows
UFS, the flash interface in phones, cars and other embedded devices, is explained in the UFS guide.
Swipe the timeline sideways to reach the years since 2015.
- Spec published
- Sample
- Shipping
- Context, not a first
Rate per lane (Gb/s)
- UFS
| Standard | Who | Stage | Measure | Headline speed | Date | Source | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| UFS 5.0 (JESD220H), on MIPI M-PHY 6.0 | JEDEC | Spec published | HS-G6 46.6 Gb/s per lane | 46.6 Gb/s per lane | February 26, 2026 | JEDEC 2026 | |
| JESD220H Universal Flash Storage (UFS) 5.0 | JEDEC | Published | February 2026 | JEDEC page | Universal Flash Storage 5.0. The catalog page offers it for purchase. | ||
| UFS 4.1 (JESD220G) | JEDEC | Update | Update to UFS 4.0 | January 8, 2025 | JEDEC 2025 | A context row: an update to UFS 4.0, not a first. | |
| UFS 4.0 (JESD220F) | JEDEC | Spec published | About 4.2 GB/s | 23.32 Gb/s per lane | August 17, 2022 | JEDEC 2022MIPI Alliance 2025 (speed) | |
| UFS 3.1 (JESD220E) adds Write Booster, DeepSleep and HPB | JEDEC | Update | Write Booster | January 30, 2020 | JEDEC 2020 | A context row: an update that adds features and no new link rate. | |
| UFS 3.0 (JESD220D) | JEDEC | Spec published | HS-G4 11.6 Gb/s per lane | 11.6 Gb/s per lane | January 30, 2018 | JEDEC 2018 | |
| UFS 2.0 (JESD220B) | JEDEC | Spec published | HS-G3 5.8 Gb/s per lane (optional) | 5.8 Gb/s per lane | September 18, 2013 | JEDEC 2013JEDEC 2013 (speed) | |
| UFS 1.0, the first Universal Flash Storage standard | JEDEC | Spec published | 300 MB/s | 2.9 Gb/s per lane | February 24, 2011 | JEDEC 2011 |
External and legacy drive links12 rows
The links outside the box and before NVMe: USB and Thunderbolt for external drives, SATA and SAS for drives inside it.
Swipe the timeline sideways to reach the years since 2015.
- Spec published
- Sample
- Shipping
- Context, not a first
Rate per lane (Gb/s)
- SATA
Total link rate (Gb/s)
- Thunderbolt
- USB
| Standard | Who | Stage | Measure | Headline speed | Date | Source | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SAS-5 in public review | INCITS T10 | Public review | SAS-5 draft | September 2026 | INCITS T10 2026 | A context row: the next SAS standard, not yet published. | |
| Thunderbolt 5 announced with a prototype laptop and dock | Intel | Prototype shown | Thunderbolt 5, 120 Gb/s Bandwidth Boost | 80 Gb/s | September 12, 2023 | Intel 2023 | |
| USB4 Version 2.0 published: USB 80Gbps over USB Type-C | USB-IF | Spec published | USB4 Version 2.0, PAM3 | 80 Gb/s | October 18, 2022 | USB-IF 2022 | |
| SATA Revision 3.5a, the newest revision | SATA-IO | Latest revision | Serial ATA Revision 3.5a | March 2021 | SATA-IO 2021 | A context row: the current revision, not a first. | |
| Thunderbolt 4 detailed, always 40 Gb/s | Intel | Announced | Thunderbolt 4, 8000-series controllers | July 8, 2020 | Intel 2020 | A context row: the same top rate as Thunderbolt 3, with stricter minimum requirements. | |
| USB4 specification published, up to 40 Gb/s over two lanes | USB-IF | Spec published | USB4, two lanes | 40 Gb/s | September 3, 2019 | USB-IF 2019 | |
| USB4 announced ahead of publication | USB Promoter Group | Announced | USB4, pending release | March 4, 2019 | USB Promoter Group 2019 | A context row: the announcement; the published spec is the next row. | |
| SAS-4 published as INCITS 534-2019 | INCITS T10 | Standard published | INCITS 534-2019 | 2019 | INCITS T10 2019 | A context row: the formal standard behind 24G SAS. | |
| 24G SAS specification development complete | SCSI Trade Association | Spec complete | 24G SAS (SAS-4 and SPL-4) | August 8, 2017 | SCSI Trade Association (SNIA) 2017 | ||
| Thunderbolt launched, first on Apple’s new MacBook Pro | Intel | First shipping | Thunderbolt | 10 Gb/s | February 24, 2011 | Intel 2011 | |
| SATA Revision 3.0 released, the last SATA speed step | SATA-IO | Spec published | Serial ATA Revision 3.0 | 6 Gb/s per lane | May 27, 2009 | SATA-IO 2009 | |
| USB 3.0 released, ten times the rate of USB 2.0 | USB 3.0 Promoter Group | Spec published | USB 3.0 SuperSpeed | 5 Gb/s | November 2008 | Intel 2013 |
Reliability, test and security2 rows
Test and qualification rules from JEDEC that apply across the parts above.
| Standard | Who | Stage | Measure | Headline speed | Date | Source | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| JESD264 silicon photonics qualification and reliability requirements | JEDEC | Published | October 1, 2026 | JEDEC page | Described by JEDEC as the first industry-wide silicon photonics reliability standard. | ||
| JEP203 and JEP204 (SiC short-circuit guideline; stress-procedure catalog) | JEDEC | Published | June 3, 2026 | JEDEC page | Reliability guidelines for silicon-carbide power devices. |
Download the standards and their sources: CSV or JSON. Each row is one sourced value with the source it was read from, and the D and T marks as columns.
What it will not tell you
This is a list of published specs, dated firsts and this year’s documents, not every revision of every standard. A step nobody dated in public is not here, and a missing row is not a late one. Still open, with no dated public source saved yet:
- The first edition of the JEDEC DDR2 standard (JESD79-2). JEDEC’s own pages show only later editions. The first HBM standard (JESD235) has a row, but its date comes from a secondary source, not JEDEC.
- The first shipping drives for zoned namespaces, key value and flexible data placement. The dated drive rows are a ZNS sampling announcement, a key value prototype and an FDP demonstration; none is a shipping drive.
- The 2026 documents come from the public lists of JEDEC, NVM Express, PCI-SIG, SNIA and the Open Compute Project. ONFI’s and the CXL Consortium’s 2026 releases are not in that list, and a spec behind a members-only login appears only when a public page announces it.
Rates are the headline figure each source prints, not what a real drive or module delivers. For the dies and controllers behind these interfaces, see the NAND die timeline, the DRAM die timeline, the HBM timeline and the controller timeline.
The guides behind this data
- Flash Foundations, Part 1: Standards & Interfaces
Trace the standards, interfaces and form factors that limit a drive before its firmware runs.
- UFS Explained: The Flash Storage Inside Your Phone
How Universal Flash Storage works: its layers, eMMC and NVMe compared, M-PHY gears, versions 1.0 to 5.0, queueing, cards, cars and real parts.
- Working Memory, Part 6: CAMM2, LPCAMM2 and SOCAMM2
What CAMM2, LPCAMM2, and SOCAMM2 are, the JEDEC standards behind them, how they differ from SO-DIMMs and soldered LPDDR, and who makes them.
- Working Memory, Part 4: High Bandwidth Memory
What an HBM stack is, why its bus is wide rather than fast, why the chip edge limits bandwidth, and how a stack differs from a DIMM and from a new cell.