Explore · Sourced data

HDD Timeline

Hard drives from Seagate, Western Digital, Hitachi and Toshiba, placed at the date of the maker’s own release and drawn at the largest capacity it states, with the recording method the release names. Filter by method to see where shingled, microwave-assisted and heat-assisted drives appear. Every point links to its source.

2005201020152020202544TBSeagate Mozaic 4+ drives, up to 44TB, 3/2026

Chart of hard drive capacity by year

Drive capacity climbed from 80GB in 2004 to 44TB in 2026

Measure
Recording method

Drive capacity runs from 80GB (2004) to 44TB (2026) across 29 drives. A hollow marker is a lower limit the release prints, such as 30TB and beyond.
  • Record: the largest drive in this data by then
  • Seagate
  • Western Digital
  • Hitachi
  • Toshiba

15 records, oldest first. Each drive was larger than any earlier drive in this data.

  1. 80GB

    Toshiba MK8007GAH, 1.8-inch

    Maker
    Toshiba
    Method
    Perpendicular
  2. 750GB

    Seagate Barracuda 7200.10, 750GB

    Maker
    Seagate
    Method
    Perpendicular
  3. 1TB

    Hitachi Deskstar 7K1000

    Maker
    Hitachi
    Method
    Perpendicular
  4. 3TB

    Seagate GoFlex Desk 3TB, external

    Maker
    Seagate
    Method
    Not stated
  5. 4TB

    Seagate GoFlex Desk 4TB, external

    Maker
    Seagate
    Method
    Not stated
  6. 8TB

    Seagate 8TB hard drive

    Maker
    Seagate
    Method
    Not stated
  7. 10TB

    Seagate Enterprise Capacity 3.5 HDD 10TB

    Maker
    Seagate
    Method
    Conventional (CMR)
  8. 14TB

    Toshiba MG07ACA, 14TB

    Maker
    Toshiba
    Method
    Conventional (CMR)
  9. 16TB

    Seagate Exos X16

    Maker
    Seagate
    Method
    Not stated
  10. 20TB

    Western Digital Ultrastar DC HC650

    Maker
    Western Digital
    Method
    Shingled (SMR), Western Digital ePMR
  11. 26TB

    Western Digital Ultrastar DC HC670

    Maker
    Western Digital
    Method
    Shingled (SMR), Western Digital ePMR
  12. 30TB+

    Seagate Exos 30TB+ on Mozaic 3+

    Maker
    Seagate
    Method
    Heat-assisted (HAMR)
  13. 32TB

    Western Digital Ultrastar DC HC690

    Maker
    Western Digital
    Method
    Shingled (SMR), Western Digital ePMR
  14. 36TB

    Seagate Exos M, 36TB samples

    Maker
    Seagate
    Method
    Heat-assisted (HAMR)
  15. 44TB

    Seagate Mozaic 4+ drives, up to 44TB

    Maker
    Seagate
    Method
    Heat-assisted (HAMR)

How to read it

Each point is one hard drive that its maker’s own release describes. It sits at the date of that release, the earliest source cited for the drive, which is the date of the announcement and not the date the drive reached shelves. Some releases announce samples, a drive in customer qualification or a ship date still to come, and the table says which. The chart shows 29 drives from 25 releases, running from 2004 to 2026, not every drive ever made.

The value is the largest capacity the release states for the drive or family. Where a release prints only a lower limit, such as 30TB and beyond, the marker is hollow and the table shows a plus sign. The scale is logarithmic, so each grid line is ten times the one below it, and the early drives in gigabytes sit on the same chart as the latest ones in terabytes.

The method chips filter by what each release says about how the drive writes its bits. Perpendicular says which way the bits point, and conventional (CMR) or shingled (SMR) says how the tracks are laid, so a release can name one, both or neither. A drive whose release names an energy assist is filed under that assist, then by track layout, then as perpendicular, and one whose release names no method at all is filed under not stated rather than guessed from what the maker shipped elsewhere.

Every drive and its source

Maker
DriveMakerDateCapacityRecording methodHeliumStatusSource
Mozaic 4+ drives, up to 44TBSeagate3/202644TBHeat-assisted (HAMR)Not statedShippingSeagate 2026 release
M12 SMR, 30 to 34TB samplesToshiba3/202634TBShingled (SMR), Microwave-assisted (MAMR)YesSamplingToshiba 2026 release
40TB UltraSMR driveWestern Digital2/202640TBShingled (SMR), Western Digital ePMRNot statedIn qualificationWestern Digital 2026 release
Exos M, 36TB samplesSeagate1/202536TBHeat-assisted (HAMR)Not statedSamplingSeagate 2025 release
Ultrastar DC HC690Western Digital10/202432TBShingled (SMR), Western Digital ePMRNot statedShippingWestern Digital 2024 release
Ultrastar DC HC590Western Digital10/202426TBConventional (CMR), Western Digital ePMRNot statedShippingWestern Digital 2024 release
MA11, 28TBToshiba9/202428TBShingled (SMR), Microwave-assisted (MAMR)YesAnnouncedToshiba 2024 release
MG11, 24TBToshiba9/202424TBConventional (CMR), Microwave-assisted (MAMR)YesAnnouncedToshiba 2024 release
Exos 30TB+ on Mozaic 3+Seagate1/202430TB+Heat-assisted (HAMR)Not statedShippingSeagate 2024 release
MG10F, 22TBToshiba9/202322TBConventional (CMR)YesSamplingToshiba 2023 release
MG10, 20TBToshiba10/202220TBConventional (CMR), Microwave-assisted (MAMR)YesAnnouncedToshiba 2022 release
Ultrastar DC HC670Western Digital5/202226TBShingled (SMR), Western Digital ePMRYesSamplingWestern Digital 2022 release
Ultrastar DC HC570Western Digital5/202222TBConventional (CMR), Western Digital ePMRYesSamplingWestern Digital 2022 release
Exos X20Seagate12/202120TBConventional (CMR)Not statedShippingSeagate 2021 release
20TB drive with OptiNANDWestern Digital8/202120TBWestern Digital ePMRYesSamplingWestern Digital 2021 release
MG09, 18TBToshiba2/202118TBConventional (CMR), Microwave-assisted (MAMR)YesAnnouncedToshiba 2021 release
20TB HAMR driveSeagate9/202020TBHeat-assisted (HAMR)Not statedAnnouncedSeagate 2020 release
Ultrastar DC HC650Western Digital9/201920TBShingled (SMR), Western Digital ePMRYesAnnouncedWestern Digital 2019 release
Ultrastar DC HC550Western Digital9/201918TBConventional (CMR), Western Digital ePMRYesAnnouncedWestern Digital 2019 release
Exos X16Seagate6/201916TBNot statedYesShippingSeagate 2019 release
Ultrastar DC HC530Western Digital4/201814TBConventional (CMR)YesIn qualificationWestern Digital 2018 release
MG07ACA, 14TBToshiba12/201714TBConventional (CMR)YesSamplingToshiba 2017 release
Enterprise Capacity 3.5 HDD 10TBSeagate1/201610TBConventional (CMR)YesShippingSeagate 2016 release
8TB hard driveSeagate8/20148TBNot statedNot statedShippingSeagate 2014 release
GoFlex Desk 4TB, externalSeagate9/20114TBNot statedNot statedShippingSeagate 2011 release
GoFlex Desk 3TB, externalSeagate6/20103TBNot statedNot statedShippingSeagate 2010 release
Deskstar 7K1000Hitachi1/20071TBPerpendicularNot statedAnnouncedHitachi 2007 release
Barracuda 7200.10, 750GBSeagate4/2006750GBPerpendicularNot statedShippingSeagate 2006 release
MK8007GAH, 1.8-inchToshiba12/200480GBPerpendicularNot statedAnnouncedToshiba 2004 release

Each row links to the maker’s release it was read from. Helium says yes only where the release says the drive is helium-filled, helium-sealed or HelioSeal. On a phone, swipe the table sideways to see every column.

Download the drives and their sources: CSV or JSON. Each row is one sourced value with the source it was read from, and the D and T marks as columns.

The recording methods, first release in this data

The first release here to name each method, which is not always the first drive ever to use it. Seagate’s shingled first is a release about shipments with no one drive named, so it has no point on the chart.

Perpendicular (PMR)
Bits stand on end, at right angles to the platter, instead of lying flat along it as in the longitudinal recording before. First named here by Toshiba, 12/2004: MK8007GAH, 1.8-inch, 80GB (Toshiba 2004 release).
Conventional (CMR)
Tracks are written side by side with a gap between them, the layout shingled recording departs from. It says how tracks are laid, not which way the bits point. First named here by Seagate, 1/2016: Enterprise Capacity 3.5 HDD 10TB (Seagate 2016 release).
Shingled (SMR)
Each track is written partly over the last, like roof shingles, so more tracks fit but a rewrite has to redo its neighbors. First named here by Seagate, 9/2013: Shipped over one million shingled magnetic recording drives, and called itself the first maker to ship them (Seagate 2013 release).
Western Digital ePMR
Western Digital’s own name for its energy-assisted perpendicular recording: energy-assisted recording in 2019, ePMR from 2021. Microwave-assisted and heat-assisted recording are energy-assisted too, under their own names. First named here by Western Digital, 9/2019: Ultrastar DC HC550, 18TB (Western Digital 2019 release).
Microwave-assisted (MAMR)
Toshiba’s flux control microwave-assisted recording, FC-MAMR, which helps the write head switch the bits. First named here by Toshiba, 2/2021: MG09, 18TB (Toshiba 2021 release).
Heat-assisted (HAMR)
A laser heats a tiny spot of the platter as it is written, so a medium too stable to write cold can hold smaller bits. First named here by Seagate, 9/2020: 20TB HAMR drive (Seagate 2020 release).

What it will not tell you

A drive sits at the date of its release, not the date it shipped in volume. The chart covers drives with a saved maker release, not every drive ever made: a record set by a drive whose release is no longer online is missing, and so are drives whose makers have left the market. Capacity is the figure on the label, in decimal terabytes, not what an operating system reports.

It does not rank drives by speed, power or reliability, and it says nothing about how a shingled drive handles rewrites. For flash, see the NAND Die Timeline and the SSD Endurance Leaderboard.

The guides behind this data

The other timelines